Skip to main content

Forrest P. White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 5

Scope and Contents

The bulk of the material concerns the desegregation of Norfolk, Virginia's public schools. There is some material on the Gray Commission Report (1955-1956), much more on the Norfolk Committee for Public Schools, an organization in which Dr. White was active from 1958 to 1963. The latter material includes correspondence, publicity releases, financial records, and newspaper clippings. There are small amounts of material on the 1952 Byrd-Miller Democratic Senatorial primary and on the 1961 Citizens for Democratic Government campaign in Norfolk's Democratic primary. Portions of the Forrest P. White Papers have been digitized and are available in the School Desegregation in Norfolk, Virginia collection of the Old Dominion University Libraries Digital Collections.

Dates

  • circa 1950-1961, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 04/15/1976

Creator

Extent

0.80 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Dr. Forrest P. White was born in Norfolk in 1920. He graduated from Randolph-Macon College and the Medical College of Virginia. He served his internship in the United States Navy (1945-1946) and then served in the Medical Corps of the United States Naval Reserve (1946-1947). He served his residency at the Medical College of Virginia Hospitals from 1948 to 1950 and became a practicing pediatrician in Norfolk, Virginia. Dr. White was active in local politics in Norfolk and played a central role in the formation and running of the Norfolk Committee for Public Schools, an organization which opposed the closing of that city's public schools during the desegregation crisis of the late 1950's and early 1960's. He died on March 26, 1995 at his home in Norfolk.

Note written by James F. Walsh

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

Pediatrician in Norfolk. Played central role in formation of Norfolk Committee for Public Schools, which opposed the closing of the city’s public schools during the desegregation crisis. Bulk of the material concerns the desegregation of Norfolk’s public schools.

Source of Acquisition

Dr. Forrest P. White

Method of Acquisition

Gift. Accession #A76-12

Accruals and Additions

Second accession: 1/23/1980

Related Materials

Oral Histories in the Perry Library: Edith White
Title
A Guide to the Forrest P. White Papers
Author
James F. Walsh
Date
02/14/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350