Skip to main content

Virginia Symphony League Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 81-C

Scope and Contents

This collection contains administrative records, financial records, fundraising activities, and other material related to the Virginia Symphony League, a fundraising wing of the Virginia Symphony Orchestra. Included are board meeting minutes, correspondence, records of special events to raise money for the Virginia Symphony, and financial information.

Dates

  • 1979-2016, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 04/02/2004

Creator

Extent

3.20 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

The purpose of the Virginia Symphony League is to support and promote the Virginia Symphony through fundraising and such other endeavors as it may deem appropriate or as may be appointed to it by the Virginia Symphony Chairman or Board of Directors. The Virginia Symphony League functions as a standing committee of the Virginia Symphony.

Note written by Special Collections Staff

Language of Materials

English

Additional Description

Abstract

Since 1927, the Virginia Symphony League supports and promotes the Virginia Symphony through fundraising and is considered a standing committee of the Virginia Symphony. Consists of administrative, board, and committee materials as well as information on publicity and fundraisers.

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized into seven series: Series I: 1970s; Series II: 1980s; Series III: 1990s; Series IV: 2000s; Series V: 2010s; Series VI: Undated; and Series VII: Miscellaneous.

Source of Acquisition

Virginia Symphony Orchestra

Method of Acquisition

Gift.

Processing Information

The collection was reprocessed by Melissa Erlandson, Special Collections Assistant, in 2016.

Topics

Related People/Organizations

Creator

Administrative Information

Title
A Guide to the Virginia Symphony League Records
Author
M. Erlandson
Date
05/10/2016
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the ODU Community Collections Repository

https://www.odu.edu/library/special-collections
Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350