Skip to main content

Forrest R. "Hap" White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 96

Scope and Contents

The collection consists of 14 audiocassette tapes of oral histories conducted by Forrest R. "Hap" White. The interviews were used for his doctoral dissertation and later book: Pride and Prejudice: School Desegregation and Urban Renewal in Norfolk, 1950-1959. Interviewees include politicians, judges, reporters, and business leaders who were involved in the desegregation of Norfolk Public Schools. Audio quality of some of the interviews is extremely poor and not all interviews contain the complete audio of the interview.

Dates

  • 1974-1991, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 09/11/2007

Creator

Extent

0.40 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Forrest R. “Hap” White was born in 1947 and is the son of Dr. Forrest P. White and Edith White. The White family was involved with the Norfolk Committee for Public Schools, a group that was strongly opposed to Virginia’s Massive Resistance laws. Hap received his Master of Public Administration from ODU in 1987 and his PhD in Urban Services from ODU in 1991. He was the Director of Budget for Norfolk Public Schools.  He also co-edited A Multidisciplinary Approach to Land-Use Planning in Virginia Beach (1972). His doctoral thesis School Desegregation and Urban Renewal and a later book: Pride and Prejudice: School Desegregation and Urban Renewal in Norfolk, 1950-1959 are based on his research which involve the oral histories in this collection.

Note written by Mel Frizzell

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

Former Budget Director for the Norfolk Public Schools. Fourteen untranscribed cassette tapes containing interviews White conducted with politicians, journalists, police and other city officials from 1975-1991 as background for his ODU doctoral dissertation, School Desegregation and Urban Renewal and the 1992 book Pride and Prejudice: School Desegregation and Urban Renewal in Norfolk, 1950-1959.

Arrangement Note

The collection is in chronological order as much as possible.

Physical Access Requirements

There is currently no playback equipment in Special Collections and University Archives. Please contact a staff member for further assistance.

Source of Acquisition

Forrest R. White

Method of Acquisition

Gift. Accession #A2007-10

Related Materials

Dr. Forrest P. White Papers (MG 96) Oral Histories in the Perry Library: Edith White

Related Publications

Both his dissertation and book are available in the ODU Library’s Special Collections and the General Collections: School Desegregation and Urban Renewal (doctoral thesis), Call #: LD4331.U54W39 Pride and Prejudice: School Desegregation and Urban Renewal in Norfolk, 1950-1959, Call #: HT177.N66W45 1992

Processing Information

The collection was processed and the finding aid was developed by Mel Frizzell, Special Collections Assistant, in 2008.
Title
A Guide to the Forrest R. "Hap" White Papers
Author
Mel Frizzell
Date
09/05/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350