Skip to main content

G. William Whitehurst Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 86

Scope and Contents

This collection consists of diaries, scrapbooks, and other material related to Dr. G. William Whitehurst’s political and military career. The nineteen bound congressional dairies spanning from 1969 to 1986 are reproductions of the originals held at Washington and Lee University. Six scrapbooks consist of newspaper clippings magazines, pictures and other documents relating to Dr. Whitehurst’s tenure in the U.S. House of Representatives. Twelve scrapbooks, dated 1968 to 1986, document his political campaigns, and include some memorabilia related to his congressional career. The scrapbooks contain photographs, newspaper clippings, bumper stickers, buttons, magazines, cards, invitations and magazine articles. The military material includes a log book from bombing runs over Japan in World War II, and Whitehurst’s own military records. The collection also contains correspondence with past presidents Reagan and George H.W. Bush, as well as as several artifacts.

Dates

  • 1968-2016, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 03/27/2007

Creator

Extent

21.60 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

George William Whitehurst, son of Calvert Stanhope and Laura Tomlinson Whitehurst, was born in Norfolk, Virginia on March 12, 1925. He attended local elementary schools and graduated from Maury High School in 1942. From 1943 to 1946 he served in the United States Navy, chiefly as an aviation radioman in the Pacific. After World War II he enrolled in Washington and Lee University, graduating with a B.A. in history in 1950. The following year he received his M.A. in history from the University of Virginia and in 1962 he earned his Ph.D. from West Virginia University in American Diplomatic History. Whitehurst joined the history faculty of the Norfolk Division, College of William and Mary, now Old Dominion University, in 1950. From 1963 to 1968 he served as Dean of Students. He also worked as a news analyst for WTAR-TV from 1962 to 1968. In 1968 Dr. Whitehurst was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives from Virginia’s second district, and he spent the next 18 years in Congress. His principal congressional committee assignment was the House Armed Services Committee, but in addition he served a six-year term on the Select Committee on Intelligence, and two years on the Ethics Committee. He also served as a Delegate of the North Atlantic Assembly. Dr. Whitehurst retired from Congress in 1987 and returned to teach at Old Dominion University where he was named the Kaufman Lecturer in Public Affairs. He taught courses in political science and political history and was a widely popular teacher before retiring in 2020. During his years in Washington, Dr. Whitehurst published two volumes of his Diary of a Congressman in 1983 and 1985. Dr. Whitehurst was married to the former Jennette Franks, and he is the father of two children, Frances and Cal.

Note written by Special Collections Staff

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

G. William Whitehurst was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives from Virginia’s Second District in 1968. Member of the House Armed Services Committee, Committee on Intelligence and Ethics Committee. Consists of nineteen bound Congressional dairies spanning from 1969 to 1986. Six scrap books consisting of newspaper clippings, magazines, pictures and other documents relating to Doctor William Whitehurst’s tenure in the House of Representatives.

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized into the following series: Series I: Congressional Diaries; Series II: Congressional Scrapbooks; Series III: Campaign Scrapbooks; Series IV: Military Records; and Series V: Correspondence, Medals and Photographs.

Source of Acquisition

Dr. William G. Whitehurst

Method of Acquisition

Gift. Accession #A2007-03

Accruals and Additions

Future accruals expected.

Related Materials

Diary of a Congressman, G. William Whitehurst. Call #: JK 1041.W47 1983 Oral Histories in the Perry Library: G. William Whitehurst

Title
A Guide to the G. William Whitehurst Papers
Author
Stacey Broadwater, July 2007; Elisabeth Burgess, 2010; Sonia Yaco, 2011; Mel Frizzell, 2011
Date
09/30/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350