Skip to main content

Box 1

 Container

Contains 41 Results:

Folder 36: Selden, Lauren - Old Dominion College Professor and Executive Director of Virginia ACLU, 1968-1969

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 36
Identifier: Folder 36
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series: This sub-series contains materials related to prominent and notable citizens of Norfolk. Included are materials on General Douglas MacArthur, Irene Leache, a 19th century teacher who opened a school for girls in Norfolk, Antonio Garcia Llamas who painted a portrait of General MacArthur, and Lauren Selden, an Old Dominion College history professor who became the first full-time executive director of the ACLU in Virginia in 1968. Material is arranged alphabetically by each individual's last...
Dates: 1968-1969
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series E: Personalities / Box 1

Folder 24: City of Norfolk: Recreation Survey and Long Range Plan, 1946

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 24
Identifier: Folder 24
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains material related to the Norfolk City Government and its branches including the Chamber of Commerce, Convention Bureau, Department of Parks and Recreation, Police Department, museums, and the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority. Materials include pamphlets, plans, studies and reports, information packets, and other publications. Material is arranged chronologically.

Dates: 1946
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series D: Government / Box 1

Folder 7: First Baptist, 1950-2008

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 7
Identifier: Folder 7
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains information about several Norfolk churches and a synagogue. Included are programs, directories, newsletters, dedications, and other publications. Material is arranged alphabetically by the name of the church.

Dates: 1950-2008
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series B: Churches and Synagogues / Box 1

Folder 8: First Methodist Church, 1964

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 8
Identifier: Folder 8
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains information about several Norfolk churches and a synagogue. Included are programs, directories, newsletters, dedications, and other publications. Material is arranged alphabetically by the name of the church.

Dates: 1964
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series B: Churches and Synagogues / Box 1

Folder 25: Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority, "This is it", 1946

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 25
Identifier: Folder 25
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains material related to the Norfolk City Government and its branches including the Chamber of Commerce, Convention Bureau, Department of Parks and Recreation, Police Department, museums, and the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority. Materials include pamphlets, plans, studies and reports, information packets, and other publications. Material is arranged chronologically.

Dates: 1946
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series D: Government / Box 1

Folder 9: Grace Protestant Episcopal, Golden Jubilee, 1934

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 9
Identifier: Folder 9
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains information about several Norfolk churches and a synagogue. Included are programs, directories, newsletters, dedications, and other publications. Material is arranged alphabetically by the name of the church.

Dates: 1934
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series B: Churches and Synagogues / Box 1

Folder 26: Norfolk Department of Parks and Recreation, Norfolk Botanical Garden: First Annual Report, 1959

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 26
Identifier: Folder 26
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains material related to the Norfolk City Government and its branches including the Chamber of Commerce, Convention Bureau, Department of Parks and Recreation, Police Department, museums, and the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority. Materials include pamphlets, plans, studies and reports, information packets, and other publications. Material is arranged chronologically.

Dates: 1959
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series D: Government / Box 1

Folder 27: Norfolk Museum Bulletin Annual Report, 1963

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 27
Identifier: Folder 27
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains material related to the Norfolk City Government and its branches including the Chamber of Commerce, Convention Bureau, Department of Parks and Recreation, Police Department, museums, and the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority. Materials include pamphlets, plans, studies and reports, information packets, and other publications. Material is arranged chronologically.

Dates: 1963
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series D: Government / Box 1

Folder 10: The Jamestown Churchman: Official Organ of the Episcopal Diocese of Southern Virginia, 1957

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 10
Identifier: Folder 10
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains information about several Norfolk churches and a synagogue. Included are programs, directories, newsletters, dedications, and other publications. Material is arranged alphabetically by the name of the church.

Dates: 1957
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series B: Churches and Synagogues / Box 1

Folder 11: Ohef Sholom Temple, 1994

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 11
Identifier: Folder 11
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains information about several Norfolk churches and a synagogue. Included are programs, directories, newsletters, dedications, and other publications. Material is arranged alphabetically by the name of the church.

Dates: 1994
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series B: Churches and Synagogues / Box 1

Folder 28: Norfolk Convention Bureau, "Norfolk: A Model Convention City", 1978

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 28
Identifier: Folder 28
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains material related to the Norfolk City Government and its branches including the Chamber of Commerce, Convention Bureau, Department of Parks and Recreation, Police Department, museums, and the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority. Materials include pamphlets, plans, studies and reports, information packets, and other publications. Material is arranged chronologically.

Dates: 1978
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series D: Government / Box 1

Folder 12: Old St. Paul's Church, 1945

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 12
Identifier: Folder 12
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains information about several Norfolk churches and a synagogue. Included are programs, directories, newsletters, dedications, and other publications. Material is arranged alphabetically by the name of the church.

Dates: 1945
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series B: Churches and Synagogues / Box 1

Folder 29: Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority, 1978-2017

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 29
Identifier: Folder 29
Scope and Contents

Information Packet on Ghent Square and Freemason Harbor, and a copy of the 2017 Annual Report

Dates: 1978-2017
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series D: Government / Box 1

Folder 13: Port Norfolk Baptist Church Program, Charles E. Vogan Organist, 1955 October 25

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 13
Identifier: Folder 13
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains information about several Norfolk churches and a synagogue. Included are programs, directories, newsletters, dedications, and other publications. Material is arranged alphabetically by the name of the church.

Dates: 1955 October 25
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series B: Churches and Synagogues / Box 1

Folder 14: Port Norfolk Baptist Church Directory, 1976

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 14
Identifier: Folder 14
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains information about several Norfolk churches and a synagogue. Included are programs, directories, newsletters, dedications, and other publications. Material is arranged alphabetically by the name of the church.

Dates: 1976
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series B: Churches and Synagogues / Box 1

Folder 30: Norfolk Services Directory, circa 1970-1979

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 30
Identifier: Folder 30
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains material related to the Norfolk City Government and its branches including the Chamber of Commerce, Convention Bureau, Department of Parks and Recreation, Police Department, museums, and the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority. Materials include pamphlets, plans, studies and reports, information packets, and other publications. Material is arranged chronologically.

Dates: circa 1970-1979
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series D: Government / Box 1

Folder 31: Norfolk Convention Bureau: Norfolk by the Sea, 1990

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 31
Identifier: Folder 31
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains material related to the Norfolk City Government and its branches including the Chamber of Commerce, Convention Bureau, Department of Parks and Recreation, Police Department, museums, and the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority. Materials include pamphlets, plans, studies and reports, information packets, and other publications. Material is arranged chronologically.

Dates: 1990
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series D: Government / Box 1

Folder 15: Royster Memorial Presbyterian Church, 1953-1964

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 15
Identifier: Folder 15
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains information about several Norfolk churches and a synagogue. Included are programs, directories, newsletters, dedications, and other publications. Material is arranged alphabetically by the name of the church.

Dates: 1953-1964
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series B: Churches and Synagogues / Box 1

Folder 32: Mary Pretlow Library & Ocean View Station Museum, 2008

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 32
Identifier: Folder 32
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains material related to the Norfolk City Government and its branches including the Chamber of Commerce, Convention Bureau, Department of Parks and Recreation, Police Department, museums, and the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority. Materials include pamphlets, plans, studies and reports, information packets, and other publications. Material is arranged chronologically.

Dates: 2008
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series D: Government / Box 1

Folder 16: Trinity Methodist Church, Charles E. Vogan Organist, 1960

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 16
Identifier: Folder 16
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

This sub-series contains information about several Norfolk churches and a synagogue. Included are programs, directories, newsletters, dedications, and other publications. Material is arranged alphabetically by the name of the church.

Dates: 1960
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 91, Tidewater History Collection / Series I: Norfolk / Sub-Series B: Churches and Synagogues / Box 1