Skip to main content

Box 17

 Container

Contains 29 Results:

Box 17

 File — Box: 17
Identifier: Box 17
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence related to the civil war, correspondence with General James Longstreet and General Jubal Early, correspondence with relatives, accounts of civil war battles, and a rough draft of his memoirs.

Dates: 1839-1924, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series K: General Joseph E. Johnston

Folder 16: Correspondence with Various Johnston Relatives, 1839-1861

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 16
Identifier: Folder 16
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence related to the civil war, correspondence with General James Longstreet and General Jubal Early, correspondence with relatives, accounts of civil war battles, and a rough draft of his memoirs.

Dates: 1839-1861
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series K: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 17

Folder 17: Correspondence with Beverly R. Johnston, 1847-1868

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 17
Identifier: Folder 17
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence related to the civil war, correspondence with General James Longstreet and General Jubal Early, correspondence with relatives, accounts of civil war battles, and a rough draft of his memoirs.

Dates: 1847-1868
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series K: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 17

Folder 18: Draft of Letter to Jefferson Davis Protesting Ranking in Confederate Army, 1861

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 18
Identifier: Folder 18
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence related to the civil war, correspondence with General James Longstreet and General Jubal Early, correspondence with relatives, accounts of civil war battles, and a rough draft of his memoirs.

Dates: 1861
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series K: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 17

Folder 19: Letter from Wade Hampton, 1863 January 13

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 19
Identifier: Folder 19
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence related to the civil war, correspondence with General James Longstreet and General Jubal Early, correspondence with relatives, accounts of civil war battles, and a rough draft of his memoirs.

Dates: 1863 January 13
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series K: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 17

Folder 20: General Correspondence, 1861-1865

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 20
Identifier: Folder 20
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence related to the civil war, correspondence with General James Longstreet and General Jubal Early, correspondence with relatives, accounts of civil war battles, and a rough draft of his memoirs.

Dates: 1861-1865
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series K: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 17

Folder 21: Copy of Convention signed with General Sherman, 1865 April 27

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 21
Identifier: Folder 21
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence related to the civil war, correspondence with General James Longstreet and General Jubal Early, correspondence with relatives, accounts of civil war battles, and a rough draft of his memoirs.

Dates: 1865 April 27
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series K: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 17

Folder 22: General Correspondence, 1861-1878

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 22
Identifier: Folder 22
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence related to the civil war, correspondence with General James Longstreet and General Jubal Early, correspondence with relatives, accounts of civil war battles, and a rough draft of his memoirs.

Dates: 1861-1878
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series K: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 17

Folder 23: General Correspondence, 1880-1886

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 23
Identifier: Folder 23
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence related to the civil war, correspondence with General James Longstreet and General Jubal Early, correspondence with relatives, accounts of civil war battles, and a rough draft of his memoirs.

Dates: 1880-1886
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series K: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 17

Folder 24: General Correspondence, 1886-1890

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 24
Identifier: Folder 24
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence related to the civil war, correspondence with General James Longstreet and General Jubal Early, correspondence with relatives, accounts of civil war battles, and a rough draft of his memoirs.

Dates: 1886-1890
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series K: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 17

Box 17

 File — Box: 17
Identifier: Box 17
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence with John B. Floyd, son of Governor John Floyd and Robert Morton Hughes' adoptive maternal grandfather.

Dates: 1831-1863, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series G: John B. Floyd

Folder 1: Material re: Acceptances Controversy, 1860-1861

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1
Identifier: Folder 1
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence with John B. Floyd, son of Governor John Floyd and Robert Morton Hughes' adoptive maternal grandfather.

Dates: 1860-1861
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series G: John B. Floyd / Box 17

Folder 2: Letters from General Floyd, 1861

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 2
Identifier: Folder 2
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence with John B. Floyd, son of Governor John Floyd and Robert Morton Hughes' adoptive maternal grandfather.

Dates: 1861
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series G: John B. Floyd / Box 17

Folder 3: Letters from General Floyd, 1861-1862

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 3
Identifier: Folder 3
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence with John B. Floyd, son of Governor John Floyd and Robert Morton Hughes' adoptive maternal grandfather.

Dates: 1861-1862
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series G: John B. Floyd / Box 17

Folder 4: Letters from General Floyd, 1861

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 4
Identifier: Folder 4
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence with John B. Floyd, son of Governor John Floyd and Robert Morton Hughes' adoptive maternal grandfather.

Dates: 1861
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series G: John B. Floyd / Box 17

Folder 5: Letters to General Floyd, 1862-1863

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 5
Identifier: Folder 5
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence with John B. Floyd, son of Governor John Floyd and Robert Morton Hughes' adoptive maternal grandfather.

Dates: 1862-1863
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series G: John B. Floyd / Box 17

Folder 6: Correspondence with General Henry A. Wise, 1861

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 6
Identifier: Folder 6
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence with John B. Floyd, son of Governor John Floyd and Robert Morton Hughes' adoptive maternal grandfather.

Dates: 1861
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series G: John B. Floyd / Box 17

Folder 7: Orders; Commissions; Rosters, 1861-1862

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 7
Identifier: Folder 7
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence with John B. Floyd, son of Governor John Floyd and Robert Morton Hughes' adoptive maternal grandfather.

Dates: 1861-1862
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series G: John B. Floyd / Box 17

Folder 8: Miscellaneous Morning Reports, 1861-1862

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 8
Identifier: Folder 8
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence with John B. Floyd, son of Governor John Floyd and Robert Morton Hughes' adoptive maternal grandfather.

Dates: 1861-1862
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series G: John B. Floyd / Box 17

Folder 9: Diary of an Officer in Floyd's Command, 1862

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 9
Identifier: Folder 9
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes correspondence with John B. Floyd, son of Governor John Floyd and Robert Morton Hughes' adoptive maternal grandfather.

Dates: 1862
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series X: Family Papers / Sub-Series G: John B. Floyd / Box 17