Skip to main content

Box 23

 Container

Contains 17 Results:

Box 23

 File — Box: 23
Identifier: Box 23
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes copies of letters to Johnston, newspaper articles, correspondence between Johnston and Hughes regarding the writing of Johnston's memoirs, and correspondence with publishers regarding Johnston's biography.

Dates: 1839-1939, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series XI: Historical Studies / Sub-Series B: General Joseph E. Johnston

Folder 1: Correspondence with War Office, 1891-1894

 File — Box: 23, Folder: 1
Identifier: Folder 1
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes copies of letters to Johnston, newspaper articles, correspondence between Johnston and Hughes regarding the writing of Johnston's memoirs, and correspondence with publishers regarding Johnston's biography.

Dates: 1891-1894
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series XI: Historical Studies / Sub-Series B: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 23

Folder 2: Correspondence with Joseph Brown (Civil War Governor of Georgia), 1889-1898

 File — Box: 23, Folder: 2
Identifier: Folder 2
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes copies of letters to Johnston, newspaper articles, correspondence between Johnston and Hughes regarding the writing of Johnston's memoirs, and correspondence with publishers regarding Johnston's biography.

Dates: 1889-1898
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series XI: Historical Studies / Sub-Series B: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 23

Folder 3: Correspondence with Robert E. Lee Camp, 1894-1908

 File — Box: 23, Folder: 3
Identifier: Folder 3
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes copies of letters to Johnston, newspaper articles, correspondence between Johnston and Hughes regarding the writing of Johnston's memoirs, and correspondence with publishers regarding Johnston's biography.

Dates: 1894-1908
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series XI: Historical Studies / Sub-Series B: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 23

Folder 4: Correspondence with Military Service Institution, 1912

 File — Box: 23, Folder: 4
Identifier: Folder 4
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes copies of letters to Johnston, newspaper articles, correspondence between Johnston and Hughes regarding the writing of Johnston's memoirs, and correspondence with publishers regarding Johnston's biography.

Dates: 1912
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series XI: Historical Studies / Sub-Series B: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 23

Folder 5: Correspondence with Gamaliel Bradford, 1912

 File — Box: 23, Folder: 5
Identifier: Folder 5
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes copies of letters to Johnston, newspaper articles, correspondence between Johnston and Hughes regarding the writing of Johnston's memoirs, and correspondence with publishers regarding Johnston's biography.

Dates: 1912
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series XI: Historical Studies / Sub-Series B: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 23

Folder 6: Correspondence with Gamaliel Bradford, 1912-1925

 File — Box: 23, Folder: 6
Identifier: Folder 6
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes copies of letters to Johnston, newspaper articles, correspondence between Johnston and Hughes regarding the writing of Johnston's memoirs, and correspondence with publishers regarding Johnston's biography.

Dates: 1912-1925
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series XI: Historical Studies / Sub-Series B: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 23

Folder 7: Correspondence with C. I. Millard re: J.E.J. and other Civil War Topics, 1912-1933

 File — Box: 23, Folder: 7
Identifier: Folder 7
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes copies of letters to Johnston, newspaper articles, correspondence between Johnston and Hughes regarding the writing of Johnston's memoirs, and correspondence with publishers regarding Johnston's biography.

Dates: 1912-1933
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series XI: Historical Studies / Sub-Series B: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 23

Folder 8: Correspondence with T. R. Hay, 1920-1924

 File — Box: 23, Folder: 8
Identifier: Folder 8
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes copies of letters to Johnston, newspaper articles, correspondence between Johnston and Hughes regarding the writing of Johnston's memoirs, and correspondence with publishers regarding Johnston's biography.

Dates: 1920-1924
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series XI: Historical Studies / Sub-Series B: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 23

Folder 9: Correspondence with T.R. Hay, 1925-1929

 File — Box: 23, Folder: 9
Identifier: Folder 9
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes copies of letters to Johnston, newspaper articles, correspondence between Johnston and Hughes regarding the writing of Johnston's memoirs, and correspondence with publishers regarding Johnston's biography.

Dates: 1925-1929
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series XI: Historical Studies / Sub-Series B: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 23

Folder 10: Correspondence with North Carolina Historical Commission, 1922-1933

 File — Box: 23, Folder: 10
Identifier: Folder 10
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes copies of letters to Johnston, newspaper articles, correspondence between Johnston and Hughes regarding the writing of Johnston's memoirs, and correspondence with publishers regarding Johnston's biography.

Dates: 1922-1933
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series XI: Historical Studies / Sub-Series B: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 23

Folder 11: Correspondence with American Historical Review Re: William Dodd's Comments on J.E.J., 1924

 File — Box: 23, Folder: 11
Identifier: Folder 11
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes copies of letters to Johnston, newspaper articles, correspondence between Johnston and Hughes regarding the writing of Johnston's memoirs, and correspondence with publishers regarding Johnston's biography.

Dates: 1924
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series XI: Historical Studies / Sub-Series B: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 23

Folder 12: Material re: Paper by A. P. James on J.E.J. at A.H.A. Convention, 1925

 File — Box: 23, Folder: 12
Identifier: Folder 12
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes copies of letters to Johnston, newspaper articles, correspondence between Johnston and Hughes regarding the writing of Johnston's memoirs, and correspondence with publishers regarding Johnston's biography.

Dates: 1925
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series XI: Historical Studies / Sub-Series B: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 23

Folder 13: Material Re: Confederate Monument at Stone Mountain, Georgia, 1925-1926

 File — Box: 23, Folder: 13
Identifier: Folder 13
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes copies of letters to Johnston, newspaper articles, correspondence between Johnston and Hughes regarding the writing of Johnston's memoirs, and correspondence with publishers regarding Johnston's biography.

Dates: 1925-1926
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series XI: Historical Studies / Sub-Series B: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 23

Folder 14: Correspondence with Century Magazine re: Article by William Dodd, 1927

 File — Box: 23, Folder: 14
Identifier: Folder 14
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes copies of letters to Johnston, newspaper articles, correspondence between Johnston and Hughes regarding the writing of Johnston's memoirs, and correspondence with publishers regarding Johnston's biography.

Dates: 1927
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series XI: Historical Studies / Sub-Series B: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 23

Folder 15: Correspondence with Douglas Southall Freeman, 1927-1935

 File — Box: 23, Folder: 15
Identifier: Folder 15
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes copies of letters to Johnston, newspaper articles, correspondence between Johnston and Hughes regarding the writing of Johnston's memoirs, and correspondence with publishers regarding Johnston's biography.

Dates: 1927-1935
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series XI: Historical Studies / Sub-Series B: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 23

Folder 16: Correspondence with Douglas Southall Freeman, 1935-1938

 File — Box: 23, Folder: 16
Identifier: Folder 16
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

Includes copies of letters to Johnston, newspaper articles, correspondence between Johnston and Hughes regarding the writing of Johnston's memoirs, and correspondence with publishers regarding Johnston's biography.

Dates: 1935-1938
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 7, Robert Morton Hughes Papers / Series XI: Historical Studies / Sub-Series B: General Joseph E. Johnston / Box 23