Skip to main content

Box 1

 Container

Contains 15 Results:

Box 1

 File — Box: 1
Identifier: Box 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection consists of material related to Hugh Lee Butlers's time on the Norfolk City Council as a representative of Brambleton (parking meters; race relations; Foreman Field; city anniversaries; Museum of Arts and Sciences; blue laws; study of schools); his service on the Local Draft Board from 1917 to 1922 (alleged draft evaders, delinquents, deserters); personal and family papers (tax returns, financial records, obituaries, condolences); pamphlets and brochures of...
Dates: 1923-1939
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series I: Correspondence / Sub-Series A: Norfolk City Council and General

Box 1

 File — Box: 1
Identifier: Box 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection consists of material related to Hugh Lee Butlers's time on the Norfolk City Council as a representative of Brambleton (parking meters; race relations; Foreman Field; city anniversaries; Museum of Arts and Sciences; blue laws; study of schools); his service on the Local Draft Board from 1917 to 1922 (alleged draft evaders, delinquents, deserters); personal and family papers (tax returns, financial records, obituaries, condolences); pamphlets and brochures of...
Dates: 1917-1922
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series I: Correspondence / Sub-Series B: World War I Draft Board Records

Folder 8: Draft Board Records for World War I, 1917 December 1-1922 April 25

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 8
Identifier: Folder 8
Scope and Contents

Cases of alleged draft evaders, delinquents, deserters

Dates: 1917 December 1-1922 April 25
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series I: Correspondence / Sub-Series B: World War I Draft Board Records / Box 1

Box 1

 File — Box: 1
Identifier: Box 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection consists of material related to Hugh Lee Butlers's time on the Norfolk City Council as a representative of Brambleton (parking meters; race relations; Foreman Field; city anniversaries; Museum of Arts and Sciences; blue laws; study of schools); his service on the Local Draft Board from 1917 to 1922 (alleged draft evaders, delinquents, deserters); personal and family papers (tax returns, financial records, obituaries, condolences); pamphlets and brochures of...
Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series II: Work Records

Folder 9: Railroad Retirement Act, undated

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 9
Identifier: Folder 9
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection consists of material related to Hugh Lee Butlers's time on the Norfolk City Council as a representative of Brambleton (parking meters; race relations; Foreman Field; city anniversaries; Museum of Arts and Sciences; blue laws; study of schools); his service on the Local Draft Board from 1917 to 1922 (alleged draft evaders, delinquents, deserters); personal and family papers (tax returns, financial records, obituaries, condolences); pamphlets and brochures of...
Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series II: Work Records / Box 1

Folder 1: Councilman Duties, 1923 March 10-1936 November 20

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: Folder 1
Scope and Contents

Railroad Retirement Act; Concerns of Afro-Americans; Dedication of Foreman Field; City Anniversaries; Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences

Dates: 1923 March 10-1936 November 20
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series I: Correspondence / Sub-Series A: Norfolk City Council and General / Box 1

Box 1

 File — Box: 1
Identifier: Box 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection consists of material related to Hugh Lee Butlers's time on the Norfolk City Council as a representative of Brambleton (parking meters; race relations; Foreman Field; city anniversaries; Museum of Arts and Sciences; blue laws; study of schools); his service on the Local Draft Board from 1917 to 1922 (alleged draft evaders, delinquents, deserters); personal and family papers (tax returns, financial records, obituaries, condolences); pamphlets and brochures of...
Dates: 1896-1952
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series III: Personal Papers / Sub-Series A: General Correspondence

Folder 10: Elks Memorial Services, 1896 December 6-1937 April 21

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 10
Identifier: Folder 10
Scope and Contents

Invitations; acknowledgments; rental receipts

Dates: 1896 December 6-1937 April 21
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series III: Personal Papers / Sub-Series A: General Correspondence / Box 1

Folder 2: Councilman Duties, 1936 November 21-1937 March 25

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 2
Identifier: Folder 2
Scope and Contents

Concerns of Afro-Americans; parking meter installation; Crime Prevention Conference; airport survey; 50-year Service Medal from Seaboard Air Line Railway

Dates: 1936 November 21-1937 March 25
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series I: Correspondence / Sub-Series A: Norfolk City Council and General / Box 1

Folder 3: Councilman Duties, 1937 March 26-May 29

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 3
Identifier: Folder 3
Scope and Contents

Parking meters; Blue Laws; Afro-American concerns

Dates: 1937 March 26-May 29
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series I: Correspondence / Sub-Series A: Norfolk City Council and General / Box 1

Folder 11: Family items, 1937 April 22-1952

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 11
Identifier: Folder 11
Scope and Contents

Receipts, including rental receipts

Dates: 1937 April 22-1952
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series III: Personal Papers / Sub-Series A: General Correspondence / Box 1

Folder 4: Councilman Duties, 1937 June 1-October 23

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 4
Identifier: Folder 4
Scope and Contents

Railroad Retirement Act; parking meters; Norfolk airport; "Union Mission" for Afro-Americans

Dates: 1937 June 1-October 23
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series I: Correspondence / Sub-Series A: Norfolk City Council and General / Box 1

Folder 5: Councilman Duties, 1937 October 25-1938 March 28

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 5
Identifier: Folder 5
Scope and Contents

Teachers' salaries; Police Dept.; Atlantic Coast Fleet; WPA project

Dates: 1937 October 25-1938 March 28
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series I: Correspondence / Sub-Series A: Norfolk City Council and General / Box 1

Folder 6: Councilman Duties, 1938 April 1-June 23

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 6
Identifier: Folder 6
Scope and Contents

Councilman election; Afro-American concerns; political address; WPA project

Dates: 1938 April 1-June 23
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series I: Correspondence / Sub-Series A: Norfolk City Council and General / Box 1

Folder 7: Councilman Duties, 1938 June 28-1939 August 31

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 7
Identifier: Folder 7
Scope and Contents

Study of high schools; Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences; Hugh Lee Butler's retirement

Dates: 1938 June 28-1939 August 31
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 58, Hugh Lee Butler Papers / Series I: Correspondence / Sub-Series A: Norfolk City Council and General / Box 1