Skip to main content

Box 12

 Container

Contains 15 Results:

Folder 2: Norman Hamilton, 1934-1936

 File — Box: 12, Folder: 2
Identifier: Folder 2
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes material regarding Banks' own short political career (1908-1913), his involvement in Norfolk politics, and his participation in presidential campaigns in Virginia (especially in Norfolk) throughout this same period. Also contains correspondence relating to his largely unsuccessful efforts to obtain patronage jobs from both the Wilson and Roosevelt Administrations.

Dates: 1934-1936
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 6, Benjamin A. Banks Papers / Series II: Political Papers / Sub-Series G: Political Correspondence / Box 12

Folder 3: Norman Hamilton (After Election to Congress), 1936-1937

 File — Box: 12, Folder: 3
Identifier: Folder 3
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes material regarding Banks' own short political career (1908-1913), his involvement in Norfolk politics, and his participation in presidential campaigns in Virginia (especially in Norfolk) throughout this same period. Also contains correspondence relating to his largely unsuccessful efforts to obtain patronage jobs from both the Wilson and Roosevelt Administrations.

Dates: 1936-1937
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 6, Benjamin A. Banks Papers / Series II: Political Papers / Sub-Series G: Political Correspondence / Box 12

Folder 4: Colgate Darden: General, 1935-1969

 File — Box: 12, Folder: 4
Identifier: Folder 4
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes material regarding Banks' own short political career (1908-1913), his involvement in Norfolk politics, and his participation in presidential campaigns in Virginia (especially in Norfolk) throughout this same period. Also contains correspondence relating to his largely unsuccessful efforts to obtain patronage jobs from both the Wilson and Roosevelt Administrations.

Dates: 1935-1969
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 6, Benjamin A. Banks Papers / Series II: Political Papers / Sub-Series G: Political Correspondence / Box 12

Folder 5: Correspondence with Wilson Administration re: Government Job, 1912-1918

 File — Box: 12, Folder: 5
Identifier: Folder 5
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes material regarding Banks' own short political career (1908-1913), his involvement in Norfolk politics, and his participation in presidential campaigns in Virginia (especially in Norfolk) throughout this same period. Also contains correspondence relating to his largely unsuccessful efforts to obtain patronage jobs from both the Wilson and Roosevelt Administrations.

Dates: 1912-1918
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 6, Benjamin A. Banks Papers / Series II: Political Papers / Sub-Series G: Political Correspondence / Box 12

Folder 6: Correspondence with Virginia Politicians re: Support for Job in Wilson Administration, 1913-1920

 File — Box: 12, Folder: 6
Identifier: Folder 6
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes material regarding Banks' own short political career (1908-1913), his involvement in Norfolk politics, and his participation in presidential campaigns in Virginia (especially in Norfolk) throughout this same period. Also contains correspondence relating to his largely unsuccessful efforts to obtain patronage jobs from both the Wilson and Roosevelt Administrations.

Dates: 1913-1920
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 6, Benjamin A. Banks Papers / Series II: Political Papers / Sub-Series G: Political Correspondence / Box 12

Folder 7: Correspondence with Simon Wolf re: Efforts to Obtain Government Job, 1914

 File — Box: 12, Folder: 7
Identifier: Folder 7
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes material regarding Banks' own short political career (1908-1913), his involvement in Norfolk politics, and his participation in presidential campaigns in Virginia (especially in Norfolk) throughout this same period. Also contains correspondence relating to his largely unsuccessful efforts to obtain patronage jobs from both the Wilson and Roosevelt Administrations.

Dates: 1914
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 6, Benjamin A. Banks Papers / Series II: Political Papers / Sub-Series G: Political Correspondence / Box 12

Folder 8: Applications for Collectorship of Port of Norfolk, 1914

 File — Box: 12, Folder: 8
Identifier: Folder 8
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes material regarding Banks' own short political career (1908-1913), his involvement in Norfolk politics, and his participation in presidential campaigns in Virginia (especially in Norfolk) throughout this same period. Also contains correspondence relating to his largely unsuccessful efforts to obtain patronage jobs from both the Wilson and Roosevelt Administrations.

Dates: 1914
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 6, Benjamin A. Banks Papers / Series II: Political Papers / Sub-Series G: Political Correspondence / Box 12

Folder 9: Correspondence with Department of Justice re: Government Job,, 1933-1934

 File — Box: 12, Folder: 9
Identifier: Folder 9
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes material regarding Banks' own short political career (1908-1913), his involvement in Norfolk politics, and his participation in presidential campaigns in Virginia (especially in Norfolk) throughout this same period. Also contains correspondence relating to his largely unsuccessful efforts to obtain patronage jobs from both the Wilson and Roosevelt Administrations.

Dates: 1933-1934
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 6, Benjamin A. Banks Papers / Series II: Political Papers / Sub-Series G: Political Correspondence / Box 12

Folder 10: Correspondence with Department of Justice re: Job Obtained in War Risk Insurance Office, 1934-1936

 File — Box: 12, Folder: 10
Identifier: Folder 10
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes material regarding Banks' own short political career (1908-1913), his involvement in Norfolk politics, and his participation in presidential campaigns in Virginia (especially in Norfolk) throughout this same period. Also contains correspondence relating to his largely unsuccessful efforts to obtain patronage jobs from both the Wilson and Roosevelt Administrations.

Dates: 1934-1936
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 6, Benjamin A. Banks Papers / Series II: Political Papers / Sub-Series G: Political Correspondence / Box 12

Folder 11: Misc. Correspondence re: Department of Justice Jobs, 1933-1934, 1936

 File — Box: 12, Folder: 11
Identifier: Folder 11
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes material regarding Banks' own short political career (1908-1913), his involvement in Norfolk politics, and his participation in presidential campaigns in Virginia (especially in Norfolk) throughout this same period. Also contains correspondence relating to his largely unsuccessful efforts to obtain patronage jobs from both the Wilson and Roosevelt Administrations.

Dates: 1933-1934, 1936
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 6, Benjamin A. Banks Papers / Series II: Political Papers / Sub-Series G: Political Correspondence / Box 12

Folder 12: Correspondence with Harry Byrd, Sr. re: Department of Justice Job, undated

 File — Box: 12, Folder: 12
Identifier: Folder 12
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes material regarding Banks' own short political career (1908-1913), his involvement in Norfolk politics, and his participation in presidential campaigns in Virginia (especially in Norfolk) throughout this same period. Also contains correspondence relating to his largely unsuccessful efforts to obtain patronage jobs from both the Wilson and Roosevelt Administrations.

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 6, Benjamin A. Banks Papers / Series II: Political Papers / Sub-Series G: Political Correspondence / Box 12

Folder 13: Correspondence with Colgate Darden re: Department of Justice Job, 1933-1934

 File — Box: 12, Folder: 13
Identifier: Folder 13
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes material regarding Banks' own short political career (1908-1913), his involvement in Norfolk politics, and his participation in presidential campaigns in Virginia (especially in Norfolk) throughout this same period. Also contains correspondence relating to his largely unsuccessful efforts to obtain patronage jobs from both the Wilson and Roosevelt Administrations.

Dates: 1933-1934
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 6, Benjamin A. Banks Papers / Series II: Political Papers / Sub-Series G: Political Correspondence / Box 12

Folder 14: Correspondence with Bernard Baruch re: Department of Justice Job, 1934

 File — Box: 12, Folder: 14
Identifier: Folder 14
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes material regarding Banks' own short political career (1908-1913), his involvement in Norfolk politics, and his participation in presidential campaigns in Virginia (especially in Norfolk) throughout this same period. Also contains correspondence relating to his largely unsuccessful efforts to obtain patronage jobs from both the Wilson and Roosevelt Administrations.

Dates: 1934
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 6, Benjamin A. Banks Papers / Series II: Political Papers / Sub-Series G: Political Correspondence / Box 12

Box 12

 File — Box: 12
Identifier: Box 12
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes material regarding Banks' own short political career (1908-1913), his involvement in Norfolk politics, and his participation in presidential campaigns in Virginia (especially in Norfolk) throughout this same period. Also contains correspondence relating to his largely unsuccessful efforts to obtain patronage jobs from both the Wilson and Roosevelt Administrations.

Dates: 1903-1970, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 6, Benjamin A. Banks Papers / Series II: Political Papers / Sub-Series G: Political Correspondence

Folder 1: Miscellaneous, 1907-1971

 File — Box: 12, Folder: 1
Identifier: Folder 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes material regarding Banks' own short political career (1908-1913), his involvement in Norfolk politics, and his participation in presidential campaigns in Virginia (especially in Norfolk) throughout this same period. Also contains correspondence relating to his largely unsuccessful efforts to obtain patronage jobs from both the Wilson and Roosevelt Administrations.

Dates: 1907-1971
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 6, Benjamin A. Banks Papers / Series II: Political Papers / Sub-Series G: Political Correspondence / Box 12