Skip to main content

Box 01

 Container

Staff Only

Contains 216 Results:

Box 01

 File — Box: 01
Identifier: Box 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1866-1917
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent

Box 01

 File — Box: 01
Identifier: Box 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes the correspondence of Samuel Chew and Horace Howard Furness, Jr., and Sr. Several letters in this series contain transcriptions that incorrectly attribute the letters of Horace Howard Furness, Jr., to Horace Howard Furness, Sr. and vice versa.

Dates: 1896-1913
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series II: Literary Authors and Papers on American Theater

Box 01

 File — Box: 01
Identifier: Box 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Includes a printed copy of a speech by Charles II and American colonial documents.

Dates: circa 1680-1795
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series III: Historical Manuscripts and Documents

Folder 28: Charles II Speech, 1680

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 28
Identifier: Folder 28
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Includes a printed copy of a speech by Charles II and American colonial documents.

Dates: 1680
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series III: Historical Manuscripts and Documents / Box 01

Printed Copy of Speech by King Charles II Wing C3159, 1680

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 28
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Includes a printed copy of a speech by Charles II and American colonial documents.

Dates: 1680
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series III: Historical Manuscripts and Documents / Box 01 / Folder 28: Charles II Speech

Folder 29: Permission for Duties, 1795

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 29
Identifier: Folder 29
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Includes a printed copy of a speech by Charles II and American colonial documents.

Dates: 1795
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series III: Historical Manuscripts and Documents / Box 01

For Henry Barrow, Surveyor For the County of Southampton--Signed by Governor Robert Brooke, 1795 April 24

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 29
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Includes a printed copy of a speech by Charles II and American colonial documents.

Dates: 1795 April 24
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series III: Historical Manuscripts and Documents / Box 01 / Folder 29: Permission for Duties

Permission of Duties for Henry Barrow Approved by President and Professors of William and Mary College, 1795 March 10

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 29
Identifier: Item 2
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Includes a printed copy of a speech by Charles II and American colonial documents.

Dates: 1795 March 10
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series III: Historical Manuscripts and Documents / Box 01 / Folder 29: Permission for Duties

Folder 30: Land Deed, 1777 December

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 30
Identifier: Folder 30
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Includes a printed copy of a speech by Charles II and American colonial documents.

Dates: 1777 December
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series III: Historical Manuscripts and Documents / Box 01

Certifies Thomas Bonyer [?] to Land Per Royal Proclamation of 1763, December 1, undated

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 30
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents

Signed and sealed by Lord Dunmore. Document addressed to surveyor of Fincastle County. Date hard to read but best effort is December 1, 177[?].

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series III: Historical Manuscripts and Documents / Box 01 / Folder 30: Land Deed

Folder 25: John Ruskin, undated

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 25
Identifier: Folder 25
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes the correspondence of Samuel Chew and Horace Howard Furness, Jr., and Sr. Several letters in this series contain transcriptions that incorrectly attribute the letters of Horace Howard Furness, Jr., to Horace Howard Furness, Sr. and vice versa.

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series II: Literary Authors and Papers on American Theater / Box 01

Letter From John Ruskin, undated

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 25
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes the correspondence of Samuel Chew and Horace Howard Furness, Jr., and Sr. Several letters in this series contain transcriptions that incorrectly attribute the letters of Horace Howard Furness, Jr., to Horace Howard Furness, Sr. and vice versa.

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series II: Literary Authors and Papers on American Theater / Box 01 / Folder 25: John Ruskin

Folder 01: Scrapbook, Page 1, 1866

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 01
Identifier: Folder 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1866
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01

From Bayard Taylor to My Dear Sir, 1866 July 18

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 01
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1866 July 18
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01 / Folder 01: Scrapbook, Page 1

Folder 02: Scrapbook, Page 2, 1880-1881, undated

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 02
Identifier: Folder 2
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1880-1881, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01

Seal of North American Construction Company Puerto Cabella, undated

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 02
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01 / Folder 02: Scrapbook, Page 2

Box 01

 File — Box: 01
Identifier: Box 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection contains the correspondence of William Hayes Ward, editor of The Independent, a New York Congregationalist weekly, with notable literary and historical figures. Some of the correspondents in the collection include General John Charles Frémont, American explorer and expedition leader; P. T. Barnum, showman; and Asa Gray, the preeminent American botanist of the 19th century. Other items in the collection include American literature and theater papers, colonial...
Dates: 1930-1936
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series IV: Miscellaneous Literary and Political Correspondence

Folder 31: Kenneth Roberts Correspondence, undated

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 31
Identifier: Folder 31
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection contains the correspondence of William Hayes Ward, editor of The Independent, a New York Congregationalist weekly, with notable literary and historical figures. Some of the correspondents in the collection include General John Charles Frémont, American explorer and expedition leader; P. T. Barnum, showman; and Asa Gray, the preeminent American botanist of the 19th century. Other items in the collection include American literature and theater papers, colonial...
Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series IV: Miscellaneous Literary and Political Correspondence / Box 01

Letter From Kenneth Roberts to Elizabeth Urban, undated

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 31
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection contains the correspondence of William Hayes Ward, editor of The Independent, a New York Congregationalist weekly, with notable literary and historical figures. Some of the correspondents in the collection include General John Charles Frémont, American explorer and expedition leader; P. T. Barnum, showman; and Asa Gray, the preeminent American botanist of the 19th century. Other items in the collection include American literature and theater papers, colonial...
Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series IV: Miscellaneous Literary and Political Correspondence / Box 01 / Folder 31: Kenneth Roberts Correspondence

Folder 32: S.W. Jackson Correspondence, 1936

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 32
Identifier: Folder 32
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection contains the correspondence of William Hayes Ward, editor of The Independent, a New York Congregationalist weekly, with notable literary and historical figures. Some of the correspondents in the collection include General John Charles Frémont, American explorer and expedition leader; P. T. Barnum, showman; and Asa Gray, the preeminent American botanist of the 19th century. Other items in the collection include American literature and theater papers, colonial...
Dates: 1936
Found in: ODU Community Collections / The Independent Collection / Series IV: Miscellaneous Literary and Political Correspondence / Box 01