Skip to main content

Box 01

 Container

Contains 216 Results:

From Bayard Taylor to My Dear Sir, 1866 July 18

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 01
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1866 July 18
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01 / Folder 01: Scrapbook, Page 1

Folder 02: Scrapbook, Page 2, 1880-1881, undated

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 02
Identifier: Folder 2
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1880-1881, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01

Seal of North American Construction Company Puerto Cabella, undated

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 02
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01 / Folder 02: Scrapbook, Page 2

Box 01

 File — Box: 01
Identifier: Box 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection contains the correspondence of William Hayes Ward, editor of The Independent, a New York Congregationalist weekly, with notable literary and historical figures. Some of the correspondents in the collection include General John Charles Frémont, American explorer and expedition leader; P. T. Barnum, showman; and Asa Gray, the preeminent American botanist of the 19th century. Other items in the collection include American literature and theater papers, colonial...
Dates: 1930-1936
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series IV: Miscellaneous Literary and Political Correspondence

Folder 31: Kenneth Roberts Correspondence, undated

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 31
Identifier: Folder 31
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection contains the correspondence of William Hayes Ward, editor of The Independent, a New York Congregationalist weekly, with notable literary and historical figures. Some of the correspondents in the collection include General John Charles Frémont, American explorer and expedition leader; P. T. Barnum, showman; and Asa Gray, the preeminent American botanist of the 19th century. Other items in the collection include American literature and theater papers, colonial...
Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series IV: Miscellaneous Literary and Political Correspondence / Box 01

Letter From Kenneth Roberts to Elizabeth Urban, undated

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 31
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection contains the correspondence of William Hayes Ward, editor of The Independent, a New York Congregationalist weekly, with notable literary and historical figures. Some of the correspondents in the collection include General John Charles Frémont, American explorer and expedition leader; P. T. Barnum, showman; and Asa Gray, the preeminent American botanist of the 19th century. Other items in the collection include American literature and theater papers, colonial...
Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series IV: Miscellaneous Literary and Political Correspondence / Box 01 / Folder 31: Kenneth Roberts Correspondence

Folder 32: S.W. Jackson Correspondence, 1936

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 32
Identifier: Folder 32
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection contains the correspondence of William Hayes Ward, editor of The Independent, a New York Congregationalist weekly, with notable literary and historical figures. Some of the correspondents in the collection include General John Charles Frémont, American explorer and expedition leader; P. T. Barnum, showman; and Asa Gray, the preeminent American botanist of the 19th century. Other items in the collection include American literature and theater papers, colonial...
Dates: 1936
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series IV: Miscellaneous Literary and Political Correspondence / Box 01

To Mr. S. W. Jackson From [Mayberry?], 1936 November 10

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 32
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection contains the correspondence of William Hayes Ward, editor of The Independent, a New York Congregationalist weekly, with notable literary and historical figures. Some of the correspondents in the collection include General John Charles Frémont, American explorer and expedition leader; P. T. Barnum, showman; and Asa Gray, the preeminent American botanist of the 19th century. Other items in the collection include American literature and theater papers, colonial...
Dates: 1936 November 10
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series IV: Miscellaneous Literary and Political Correspondence / Box 01 / Folder 32: S.W. Jackson Correspondence

Folder 26: Washington Irving, undated

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 26
Identifier: Folder 26
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes the correspondence of Samuel Chew and Horace Howard Furness, Jr., and Sr. Several letters in this series contain transcriptions that incorrectly attribute the letters of Horace Howard Furness, Jr., to Horace Howard Furness, Sr. and vice versa.

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series II: Literary Authors and Papers on American Theater / Box 01

Folder 03: Scrapbook, Page 3, 1880, undated

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 03
Identifier: Folder 3
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1880, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01

Folder 04: Scrapbook, Page 4, 1880

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 04
Identifier: Folder 4
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1880
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01

To "Dear Sir" From S. Newcomb (Simon Newcomb), 1880 November 23

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 04
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1880 November 23
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01 / Folder 04: Scrapbook, Page 4

To "Gentlemen" From Lewis Swift, 1880 September 28

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 04
Identifier: Item 2
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1880 September 28
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01 / Folder 04: Scrapbook, Page 4

Note That Says Ruskin Letter to Mother [Thom], undated

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 25
Identifier: Item 2
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes the correspondence of Samuel Chew and Horace Howard Furness, Jr., and Sr. Several letters in this series contain transcriptions that incorrectly attribute the letters of Horace Howard Furness, Jr., to Horace Howard Furness, Sr. and vice versa.

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series II: Literary Authors and Papers on American Theater / Box 01 / Folder 25: John Ruskin

Manuscript Excerpt From Irving Book The Life and Voyages of Christopher Columbus, undated

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 26
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes the correspondence of Samuel Chew and Horace Howard Furness, Jr., and Sr. Several letters in this series contain transcriptions that incorrectly attribute the letters of Horace Howard Furness, Jr., to Horace Howard Furness, Sr. and vice versa.

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series II: Literary Authors and Papers on American Theater / Box 01 / Folder 26: Washington Irving

Signature of Charles Sumner, undated

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 03
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents

Three signatures

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01 / Folder 03: Scrapbook, Page 3