Skip to main content

Box 01

 Container

Contains 216 Results:

To Mr. Chew From Julia Marlowe, 1906 February 12

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 27
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes the correspondence of Samuel Chew and Horace Howard Furness, Jr., and Sr. Several letters in this series contain transcriptions that incorrectly attribute the letters of Horace Howard Furness, Jr., to Horace Howard Furness, Sr. and vice versa.

Dates: 1906 February 12
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series II: Literary Authors and Papers on American Theater / Box 01 / Folder 27: Papers on American Theater

Folder 05: Scrapbook, Page 5, 1880, undated

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 05
Identifier: Folder 5
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1880, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01

To W. H. Ward From James McCosh., undated

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 05
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01 / Folder 05: Scrapbook, Page 5

Folder 06: Scrapbook, Page 6, 1880-1881

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 06
Identifier: Folder 6
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1880-1881
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01

To W. H. Ward From Leonard Bacon, 1881 January 13

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 06
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1881 January 13
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01 / Folder 06: Scrapbook, Page 6

To "My Dear Sir" From J. W. Nicer, June 20 1880

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 06
Identifier: Item 2
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: June 20 1880
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01 / Folder 06: Scrapbook, Page 6

Transcription of Excerpt, undated

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 26
Identifier: Item 2
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes the correspondence of Samuel Chew and Horace Howard Furness, Jr., and Sr. Several letters in this series contain transcriptions that incorrectly attribute the letters of Horace Howard Furness, Jr., to Horace Howard Furness, Sr. and vice versa.

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series II: Literary Authors and Papers on American Theater / Box 01 / Folder 26: Washington Irving

Folder 07: Scrapbook, Page 7, 1880-1881

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 07
Identifier: Folder 7
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1880-1881
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01

To W. H. Ward From Justin McCarthy, 1881 January 15

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 07
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1881 January 15
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01 / Folder 07: Scrapbook, Page 7

Folder 08: Scrapbook, Page 8, 1880-1881

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 08
Identifier: Folder 8
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1880-1881
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01

To Editor of The Independent From Epes Sargent, 1880 November 24

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 07
Identifier: Item 2
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1880 November 24
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01 / Folder 07: Scrapbook, Page 7

To W. H. Ward From Timothy Dwight, 1881 July 27

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 08
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1881 July 27
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01 / Folder 08: Scrapbook, Page 8

Signature of U. S. President J. A. Garfield, undated

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 03
Identifier: Item 3
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01 / Folder 03: Scrapbook, Page 3

Signature of Louis Kingsley, Lieutenant and Executive Officer, undated

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 03
Identifier: Item 4
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01 / Folder 03: Scrapbook, Page 3

From General Charles Frémont to Mr. Bowen (Henry Chandler Bowen), 1880 October 31

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 02
Identifier: Item 4
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes letters to the editors. Arrangement is the original order of letters found in a scrapbook, which the creator organized roughly by subject.

Dates: 1880 October 31
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series I: Editorial Correspondence of The Independent / Box 01 / Folder 02: Scrapbook, Page 2

Folder 36: Hugh Blair Grigsby, 1958

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 36
Identifier: Folder 36
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes correspondence concerning library collections.

Dates: 1958
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series V: William and Mary Norfolk Campus Library Correspondence. / Box 01

Folder 34: Unlabeled Manuscript, undated

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 34
Identifier: Folder 34
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection contains the correspondence of William Hayes Ward, editor of The Independent, a New York Congregationalist weekly, with notable literary and historical figures. Some of the correspondents in the collection include General John Charles Frémont, American explorer and expedition leader; P. T. Barnum, showman; and Asa Gray, the preeminent American botanist of the 19th century. Other items in the collection include American literature and theater papers, colonial...
Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series IV: Miscellaneous Literary and Political Correspondence / Box 01

Manuscript Appears to be Poem--"The Ragpicker" by Thomas Dunn English, undated

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 34
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The bulk of the collection contains the correspondence of William Hayes Ward, editor of The Independent, a New York Congregationalist weekly, with notable literary and historical figures. Some of the correspondents in the collection include General John Charles Frémont, American explorer and expedition leader; P. T. Barnum, showman; and Asa Gray, the preeminent American botanist of the 19th century. Other items in the collection include American literature and theater papers, colonial...
Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series IV: Miscellaneous Literary and Political Correspondence / Box 01 / Folder 34: Unlabeled Manuscript

To H. B. Grigsby From P. E. Read, undated

 Item — Box: 01, Folder: 36
Identifier: Item 1
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes correspondence concerning library collections.

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series V: William and Mary Norfolk Campus Library Correspondence. / Box 01 / Folder 36: Hugh Blair Grigsby

Folder 37: Berkeley Minor Correspondence, undated

 File — Box: 01, Folder: 37
Identifier: Folder 37
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series includes correspondence concerning library collections.

Dates: undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 83, The Independent Collection / Series V: William and Mary Norfolk Campus Library Correspondence. / Box 01