Skip to main content

Box 1

 Container

Contains 25 Results:

Folder 10: Correspondence, 1841-1850

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 10
Identifier: Folder 10
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

The correspondence of Joseph Holmes Sherrard (1802-1889). This subseries also includes some correspondence of Sherrard's daughters, Virginia and Elizabeth Sherrard.

Dates: 1841-1850
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 10, James Washington Singleton Papers / Series I: Correspondence / Sub-Series B: Joseph Holmes Sherrard (1802-1889) / Box 01

Folder 11: Correspondence, 1852-1911

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 11
Identifier: Folder 11
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

The correspondence of Joseph Holmes Sherrard (1802-1889). This subseries also includes some correspondence of Sherrard's daughters, Virginia and Elizabeth Sherrard.

Dates: 1852-1911
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 10, James Washington Singleton Papers / Series I: Correspondence / Sub-Series B: Joseph Holmes Sherrard (1802-1889) / Box 01

Folder 04: Correspondence, 1814 March-August

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 04
Identifier: Folder 04
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series:

The correspondence of James Singleton (1762-1815). Most of the correspondence dates from the War of 1812 period and is concerned with Singleton's activities in that conflict.

Dates: 1814 March-August
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 10, James Washington Singleton Papers / Series I: Correspondence / Sub-Series A: James Singleton (1762-1815) / Box 01

Folder 14: Correspondence, 1850-1859

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 14
Identifier: Folder 14
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series: The correspondence of James Washington Singleton(1811-1892). Most of the correspondence dates from the post 1860 period. There are five folders of letters from the 1860-1866 period which give a limited view of Singleton's Civil War activities. The subseries includes correspondence from the 1879 to 1883, the period when Singleton was serving in the House of Representatives. There is a good file of correspondence from the 1884-1885 period when Singleton was seeking a position in Cleveland's...
Dates: 1850-1859
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 10, James Washington Singleton Papers / Series I: Correspondence / Sub-Series C: James Washington Singleton (1811-1892) / Box 01

Folder 15: Correspondence, 1860-1861

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 15
Identifier: Folder 15
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series: The correspondence of James Washington Singleton(1811-1892). Most of the correspondence dates from the post 1860 period. There are five folders of letters from the 1860-1866 period which give a limited view of Singleton's Civil War activities. The subseries includes correspondence from the 1879 to 1883, the period when Singleton was serving in the House of Representatives. There is a good file of correspondence from the 1884-1885 period when Singleton was seeking a position in Cleveland's...
Dates: 1860-1861
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 10, James Washington Singleton Papers / Series I: Correspondence / Sub-Series C: James Washington Singleton (1811-1892) / Box 01