Skip to main content

Box 2

 Container

Contains 5 Results:

Box 2

 File — Box: 2
Identifier: Box 2
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

The collection includes diaries, speeches and essays about the Confederacy during the Civil War, old newspapers, and other material related to the Whittle family. In addition to the Whittle family, the collection also contains material from the Page, Loyall, Dabney, and Gordon families. Of particular note are Camilla Frances Loyall's first hand accounts of Norfolk during the Civil War, and its capture by General Wool and the Union in 1862.

Dates: circa 1812-1943, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/26/1978
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 95, Whittle Family Papers

Folder 1: Edmonia Lee Whittle: Diploma for The Phillilps and West School, Norfolk, Virginia, 1902 June 11

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 1
Identifier: Folder 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

The collection includes diaries, speeches and essays about the Confederacy during the Civil War, old newspapers, and other material related to the Whittle family. In addition to the Whittle family, the collection also contains material from the Page, Loyall, Dabney, and Gordon families. Of particular note are Camilla Frances Loyall's first hand accounts of Norfolk during the Civil War, and its capture by General Wool and the Union in 1862.

Dates: 1902 June 11
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 95, Whittle Family Papers / Box 2

Folder 2: Edmonia Lee Nelson: Diploma for Patapsco Female Institue, Ellicott City, Maryland, 1852 July 25

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 2
Identifier: Folder 2
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

The collection includes diaries, speeches and essays about the Confederacy during the Civil War, old newspapers, and other material related to the Whittle family. In addition to the Whittle family, the collection also contains material from the Page, Loyall, Dabney, and Gordon families. Of particular note are Camilla Frances Loyall's first hand accounts of Norfolk during the Civil War, and its capture by General Wool and the Union in 1862.

Dates: 1852 July 25
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 95, Whittle Family Papers / Box 2

Folder 3: Edmonia Lee Whittle: Certificate of Distinction for The Phillips and West School, Norfolk, Virginia, 1900 June 13

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 3
Identifier: Folder 3
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

The collection includes diaries, speeches and essays about the Confederacy during the Civil War, old newspapers, and other material related to the Whittle family. In addition to the Whittle family, the collection also contains material from the Page, Loyall, Dabney, and Gordon families. Of particular note are Camilla Frances Loyall's first hand accounts of Norfolk during the Civil War, and its capture by General Wool and the Union in 1862.

Dates: 1900 June 13
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 95, Whittle Family Papers / Box 2

Folder 4: Edmonia Lee Whittle: Certificate of Distinction for The Phillips and West School, Norfolk, Virginia, 1901 June 14

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 4
Identifier: Folder 4
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

The collection includes diaries, speeches and essays about the Confederacy during the Civil War, old newspapers, and other material related to the Whittle family. In addition to the Whittle family, the collection also contains material from the Page, Loyall, Dabney, and Gordon families. Of particular note are Camilla Frances Loyall's first hand accounts of Norfolk during the Civil War, and its capture by General Wool and the Union in 1862.

Dates: 1901 June 14
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 95, Whittle Family Papers / Box 2