Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection contains correspondence, legal documents, publications, photographs, and other material created and collected by Paul T. Schweitzer, a Norfolk, Virginia businessman, school board and city council member. The bulk of the collection consists of material related to Norfolk during massive resistance, when public schools were closed to prevent the admission of African Americans. Of particular note are letters written to Schweitzer both in favor of and against admission of African...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection contains correspondence, legal documents, publications, photographs, and other material created and collected by Paul T. Schweitzer, a Norfolk, Virginia businessman, school board and city council member. The bulk of the collection consists of material related to Norfolk during massive resistance, when public schools were closed to prevent the admission of African Americans. Of particular note are letters written to Schweitzer both in favor of and against admission of African...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection contains correspondence, legal documents, publications, photographs, and other material created and collected by Paul T. Schweitzer, a Norfolk, Virginia businessman, school board and city council member. The bulk of the collection consists of material related to Norfolk during massive resistance, when public schools were closed to prevent the admission of African Americans. Of particular note are letters written to Schweitzer both in favor of and against admission of African...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection contains correspondence, legal documents, publications, photographs, and other material created and collected by Paul T. Schweitzer, a Norfolk, Virginia businessman, school board and city council member. The bulk of the collection consists of material related to Norfolk during massive resistance, when public schools were closed to prevent the admission of African Americans. Of particular note are letters written to Schweitzer both in favor of and against admission of African...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection contains correspondence, legal documents, publications, photographs, and other material created and collected by Paul T. Schweitzer, a Norfolk, Virginia businessman, school board and city council member. The bulk of the collection consists of material related to Norfolk during massive resistance, when public schools were closed to prevent the admission of African Americans. Of particular note are letters written to Schweitzer both in favor of and against admission of African...

Scope and Contents

Includes an outside proof of a newspaper advertisement-petition urging the reopening of the closed schools.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection contains correspondence, legal documents, publications, photographs, and other material created and collected by Paul T. Schweitzer, a Norfolk, Virginia businessman, school board and city council member. The bulk of the collection consists of material related to Norfolk during massive resistance, when public schools were closed to prevent the admission of African Americans. Of particular note are letters written to Schweitzer both in favor of and against admission of African...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection contains correspondence, legal documents, publications, photographs, and other material created and collected by Paul T. Schweitzer, a Norfolk, Virginia businessman, school board and city council member. The bulk of the collection consists of material related to Norfolk during massive resistance, when public schools were closed to prevent the admission of African Americans. Of particular note are letters written to Schweitzer both in favor of and against admission of African...