Skip to main content

Box 2

 Container

Contains 7 Results:

Box 2

 File — Box: 2
Identifier: Box 2
Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection contains the business records of AGL (A Gene Loving) Productions, a concert booking agency in Hampton Roads, Virginia between 1962 and 1975. Materials are arranged in folders, each of which correlates to a single performance event and vary in scope from a single document to a multitude of materials including press kits, booking agreements, performer contracts, correspondence, photographs, accounting records and ephemera. Among the artists Loving booked were James Brown, The...
Dates: 1962-1975, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/10/2019
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection

Folder 1: The Beach Boys, January 2-3, 1965, 1964 October 30-1965 January 8, undated

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 1
Identifier: Folder 1
Scope and Contents

January 2, Virginia Beach, Virginia; The Dome. January 3, Richmond, Virginia; The Mosque. Note: Glen Campbell substituted for Brian Wilson for both shows. Performers include The Beach Boys, The Belvederes.

Dates: 1964 October 30-1965 January 8, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 2

Folder 2: Miscellaneous Top 30, 1964-1965, 1964 January 16-1965 April 9, undated

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 2
Identifier: Folder 2
Scope and Contents

Correspondence, mostly about possible future dates and performers.

Dates: 1964 January 16-1965 April 9, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 2

Folder 3: Gene Pitney's Shower of Stars, April 16-17, 1965, 1965 February 9-April 21, undated

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 3
Identifier: Folder 3
Scope and Contents

April 16, Richmond, Virginia; The Mosque. April 17, Virginia Beach, Virginia; The Dome. Performers include Gene Pitney, Chad & Jeremy, The Crystals, Gary Lewis and The Playboys, Bryan Hyland, Vic Dana, The Reflections, Bill Black's Combo, Darin D'Anna, Bobby Goldsboro, Marianne Faithful, Susan Wayne, Ronnie Cochron.

Dates: 1965 February 9-April 21, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 2

Folder 4: The Beach Boys, May 12, 1965, 1965 March 17-May 12, undatd

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 4
Identifier: Folder 4
Scope and Contents

Virginia Beach, Virginia; The Dome. Performers include The Beach Boys, The Sir Douglas Quintet, and The Swinging Machine.

Dates: 1965 March 17-May 12, undatd
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 2

Folder 5: WHAP All Star Show/WGH Top 30 Review, May 28-29, 1965, 1965 May 10-June 8, undated

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 5
Identifier: Folder 5
Scope and Contents

May 28, Hopewell, Virginia; Hopewell Movie Theater. Performers include The Orlons, The Isley Brothers, The Angels, Jimmy Velvet. May 29, Virginia Beach, Virginia; The Dome. Performers include Chuck Berry, Johnny Tillotson, The Detroit Wheelers, Jimmy Velvet, The Orlons, Barry Darvell, The Critters, The Angels, The Beach Nuts.

Dates: 1965 May 10-June 8, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 2

Folder 6: The Dave Clark Five, June 24, 1965, 1965 February 23-June 26, undated

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 6
Identifier: Folder 6
Scope and Contents

Virginia Beach, Virginia; Princess Ann Stadium. Performers include The Dave Clark Five, The Strangeloves, The Earthquakes, and Tommy Roe.

Dates: 1965 February 23-June 26, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 2