Skip to main content

Box 4

 Container

Contains 12 Results:

Box 4

 File — Box: 4
Identifier: Box 4
Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection contains the business records of AGL (A Gene Loving) Productions, a concert booking agency in Hampton Roads, Virginia between 1962 and 1975. Materials are arranged in folders, each of which correlates to a single performance event and vary in scope from a single document to a multitude of materials including press kits, booking agreements, performer contracts, correspondence, photographs, accounting records and ephemera. Among the artists Loving booked were James Brown, The...
Dates: 1962-1975, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/10/2019
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection

Folder 1: The Kingsmen, February 7, 1966, 1966 January 1-February 8, undated

 File — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Identifier: Folder 1
Scope and Contents

Hampton, Virginia; Peninsula Auditorium. Performers include The Kingsmen, Hang Five Man, The Sabers, The Delnotes, The Rogues. Virginia Beach, The Dome. The Penatrators, The Belvederes, The Nomads, The Pop Tops, Bill Deal and The Rhondels, The Kingsmen.

Dates: 1966 January 1-February 8, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 4

Folder 2: Joe Tex-Wilson Pickett, February 11, 1966, 1966 January 9-February 11, undated

 File — Box: 4, Folder: 2
Identifier: Folder 2
Scope and Contents

Hampton, Virginia; Sports Arena. Performers include Joe Tex, Wilson Pickett, Pegmeat Markham & Co., Derek Martin, The Packers, Paul Kelly, Jackie Ross, Leon Haywood, Clyde Williams Orchestra.

Dates: 1966 January 9-February 11, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 4

Folder 3: Link Wray, March 11-13, 1966, 1966 March 10-19, undated

 File — Box: 4, Folder: 3
Identifier: Folder 3
Scope and Contents

March 11, Richmond, Virginia; State Fair Grounds. March 12, Hampton, Virginia; Peninsula Auditorium. March 13, Virginia Beach, Virginia; The Dome. Performers include Link Wray, The Mustangs.

Dates: 1966 March 10-19, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 4

Folder 4: Jan & Dean, March 21, 1966, 1966 January 31-April 4, undated

 File — Box: 4, Folder: 4
Identifier: Folder 4
Scope and Contents

Virginia Beach, Virginia; The Dome. Performers include Jan & Dean, The Marketts.

Dates: 1966 January 31-April 4, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 4

Folder 5: Gene Pitney, April 9, 1966, 1966 March 4-June 6, undated

 File — Box: 4, Folder: 5
Identifier: Folder 5
Scope and Contents

Virginia Beach, Virginia; The Dome. Performers include Gene Pitney, B.J. Thomas & The Triumphs, Chad & Jeremy, Bobby Goldsboro, Norma Tanega, The Outsiders, The McCoys, Len Barry, George McCannon.

Dates: 1966 March 4-June 6, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 4

Folder 6: The Animals, April 24, 1966, 1966 February 10-May 18, undated

 File — Box: 4, Folder: 6
Identifier: Folder 6
Scope and Contents

Virginia Beach, Virginia; The Dome. Performers include The Animals.

Dates: 1966 February 10-May 18, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 4

Folder 7: The Strangeloves, June 18, 1966, 1966 May 26-June 20, undated

 File — Box: 4, Folder: 7
Identifier: Folder 7
Scope and Contents

Virginia Beach, Virginia; The Dome. Performers include The Strangeloves, The Showmen with Charlie McClendon and the Magnificents, The Swinging Machine.

Dates: 1966 May 26-June 20, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 4

Folder 8: The Rolling Stones, July 4, 1966, 1966 June 7-August 10, undated

 File — Box: 4, Folder: 8
Identifier: Folder 8
Scope and Contents

Virginia Beach, Virginia; The Dome. Performers include The Rolling Stones, The McCoys, The Standels, The Ronettes, The Syndicate of Sound.

Dates: 1966 June 7-August 10, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 4

Folder 9: The Beach Boys, July 29, 1966, 1966 June 14-August 1, undated

 File — Box: 4, Folder: 9
Identifier: Folder 9
Scope and Contents

Virginia Beach, Virginia; VB High School Stadium. Performers include The Beach Boys, The Wild Kingdom, Bill Deal and the Rhondels.

Dates: 1966 June 14-August 1, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 4

Folder 10: The Righteous Brothers, October 16, 1966, 1965 December 1-1966 October 18, undated

 File — Box: 4, Folder: 10
Identifier: Folder 10
Scope and Contents

Norfolk, Virginia; Norfolk Arena. Performers include The Righteous Brothers, Nino Tempo & April Stevens, Gaylord & Holiday.

Dates: 1965 December 1-1966 October 18, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 4

Folder 11: Question Mark & The Mysterians, November 23, 1966, 1966 September 28-November 25, undated

 File — Box: 4, Folder: 11
Identifier: Folder 11
Scope and Contents

Virginia Beach, Virginia; The Dome. Performers include Question Mark & The Mysterians, The McCoys, The Outsiders, Shadows of Night, The Seeds.

Dates: 1966 September 28-November 25, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 4