Skip to main content

Box 9

 Container

Contains 10 Results:

Box 9

 File — Box: 9
Identifier: Box 9
Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection contains the business records of AGL (A Gene Loving) Productions, a concert booking agency in Hampton Roads, Virginia between 1962 and 1975. Materials are arranged in folders, each of which correlates to a single performance event and vary in scope from a single document to a multitude of materials including press kits, booking agreements, performer contracts, correspondence, photographs, accounting records and ephemera. Among the artists Loving booked were James Brown, The...
Dates: 1962-1975, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/10/2019
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection

Folder 1: The Carpenters, November 18, 1972, 1972 March 8-November 20, undated

 File — Box: 9, Folder: 1
Identifier: Folder 1
Scope and Contents

Norfolk, Virginia; Scope. Performers include The Carpenters, Skiles and Henderson.

Dates: 1972 March 8-November 20, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 9

Folder 2: The Bee Gees, March 14, 1973, 1971 December 13-1973 March 15, undated

 File — Box: 9, Folder: 2
Identifier: Folder 2
Scope and Contents

Norfolk, Virginia; Scope. Performers include The Bee Gees, Jimmy Stevens.

Dates: 1971 December 13-1973 March 15, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 9

Folder 3: The Fifth Dimension, March 18, 1973, 1971 December 25-1973 March 19, undated

 File — Box: 9, Folder: 3
Identifier: Folder 3
Scope and Contents

Norfolk, Virginia; Scope. Performers include The Fifth Dimension, Merry Clayton.

Dates: 1971 December 25-1973 March 19, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 9

Folder 4: Engelbert Humperdinck, April 27, 1973, 1972 December 1-1973 July 24, undated

 File — Box: 9, Folder: 4
Identifier: Folder 4
Scope and Contents

Norfolk, Virginia; Scope. Performers include Engelbert Humperdinck, The Promises.

Dates: 1972 December 1-1973 July 24, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 9

Folder 5: Al Green, June 15, 1973, 1973 March 18-June 15, undated

 File — Box: 9, Folder: 5
Identifier: Folder 5
Scope and Contents

Hampton, Virginia; Hampton Roads Coliseum. Performers include Al Green, The Chi-Lites.

Dates: 1973 March 18-June 15, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 9

Folder 6: The Four Tops, July 7, 1973, 1973 May 9-July 14, undated

 File — Box: 9, Folder: 6
Identifier: Folder 6
Scope and Contents

Norfolk, Virginia; Scope. Performers include The Four Tops, Tommy Tate, Luther Ingram. Note: It appears Barry White was originally to perform but show reviews make no mention of him.

Dates: 1973 May 9-July 14, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 9

Folder 7: Duke Ellington, October 13, 1973, 1973 April 19

 File — Box: 9, Folder: 7
Identifier: Folder 7
Scope and Contents

Norfolk, Virginia; Chrysler Hall. Performers include Duke Ellington & His Orchestra.

Dates: 1973 April 19
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 9

Folder 9: The Osmonds, November 20, 1973, 1973 September 5-November 11, undated

 File — Box: 9, Folder: 9
Identifier: Folder 9
Scope and Contents

Hampton, Virginia; Hampton Roads Coliseum. Performers include The Osmonds, Springfield Revival.

Dates: 1973 September 5-November 11, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 9

Folder 8: Liza Minnelli, November 16, 1973, 1973 June 25-November 17, undated

 File — Box: 9, Folder: 8
Identifier: Folder 8
Scope and Contents

Hampton, Virginia; Hampton Roads Coliseum. Performers include Liza Minnelli.

Dates: 1973 June 25-November 17, undated
Found in: ODU Community Collections / MG 139, Gene Loving/AGL Productions Collection / Box 9