Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3
Filtered By
Filter Results
Additional filters:
- Topic
- Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 2
- Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 2
- Race relations--History--20th century 2
- School integration--Massive resistance movement 2
- Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 2
- African Americans--Civil rights 1
- African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 1
- African Americans--Segregation 1
- Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 1
- Busing for school integration--United States 1
- Busing for school integration--Virginia 1
- City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 1
- Democratic Party (Va.) 1
- Governors--Election--History--20th century 1
- Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
- Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 1
- Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century 1
- School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 1
- School integration--Law and legislation--United States--Cases 1
- School integration--United States 1
- School integration--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century 1
- Virginia--Lieutenant-governors 1
- Virginia--Politics and government 1 ∧ less
- People/Organizations
- Howell, Elizabeth McCarty (1917-2005) 1
- Howell, Henry E. (Henry Evans) (1920-1997) 1
- National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 1
- Norfolk Public Schools (Norfolk, Va.) 1
- Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 1
- Stolee, Michael J. (1930-2007) 1
- University of Miami. School of Education. Florida School Desegregation Center 1
- Virginia. General Assembly 1 ∧ less
∨ more
∨ more
Henry E. Howell, Jr. Papers
Collection
Collection ID: MG 1
Abstract
Henry Evans Howell, Jr. served in the General Assembly and as Lieutenant Governor (1971-1973). Unsuccessful candidate for Governor of Virginia three times (1969, 1973,1977). Bulk of the collection deals with his career in politics, first in Norfolk and, after 1968, on the statewide level. Documents Democratic Party affairs from 1948 through 1977. Also includes promotional audio and video clips created as part of Howell's campaigns for the Virginia governorship in 1969, 1973 and 1977....
Dates:
circa 1928-1999, undated; Majority of material found within 1960-1978; Other: Date acquired: 11/04/1974
Found in:
ODU Community Collections
Norfolk Public Schools Desegregation Collection
Collection
Collection ID: MG 92
Abstract
This collection dating from 1922-2008, contains correspondence, memorandum, depositions, court orders, recollections, statistical testing data, printed material, artifacts, and maps.The bulk of the collection provides a glimpse into the decisions made by the School Board through court documentation and the public sentiment during the integration process in Norfolk. While most of the collection deals with desegregation, it also includes school directories and calendars before and after...
Dates:
circa 1922-2008, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/14/2007
Found in:
ODU Community Collections
Michael J. Stolee Papers
Collection
Collection ID: MG 102
Abstract
The collection contains material related to Stolee’s work as an expert witness in 68 school desegregation cases in the US including Norfolk. Stolle helped to design Norfolk 1971 school busing plan.The material includes the court proceedings, testimony, newspaper clippings, photographs, invoices and correspondence as well as his narrative of some of the cases.
Dates:
circa 1964-2009, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/09/2008
Found in:
ODU Community Collections