Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3

Filtered By

  • Topic: Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century X
  • Topic: Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk X
  • Topic: School closings--Virginia--Norfolk X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 2
African Americans--Civil rights 1
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 1
African Americans--Segregation 1
Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 1
∨ more
Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 1
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Civic leaders--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Lost class of '59 1
Race relations--History--20th century 1
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Teachers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Virginia--Politics and government 1
∧ less
 
People/Organizations
CBS Television Network 1
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 1
Norfolk Bicentennial Commission 1
Norfolk Public Schools (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Norfolk School Board (Norfolk, Va.) 1
∨ more
Schweitzer, Paul T. (1903-1976) 1
White, Margaret E. (1908-1995) 1
∧ less
 

Norfolk Public Schools Desegregation Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 92
Abstract This collection dating from 1922-2008, contains correspondence, memorandum, depositions, court orders, recollections, statistical testing data, printed material, artifacts, and maps.The bulk of the collection provides a glimpse into the decisions made by the School Board through court documentation and the public sentiment during the integration process in Norfolk. While most of the collection deals with desegregation, it also includes school directories and calendars before and after...
Dates: circa 1922-2008, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/14/2007
Found in: ODU Community Collections

Paul T. Schweitzer Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 16
Abstract

Norfolk businessman and member of the Norfolk School Board (1952-1960) and City Council (1960-1968) during the Massive Resistance crisis. Includes correspondence, legal documents, newspapers clippings, scrapbooks and photographs that primarily document his activities during Norfolk’s desegregation crisis.

Dates: circa 1952-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/01/1977
Found in: ODU Community Collections

Margaret White Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 20
Abstract

Margaret White taught in the Norfolk school system off and on since 1930. Involved in struggle to reopen the public schools during the integration crisis. CBS television documentary, "The Lost Class of ’59" recorded her efforts. Correspondence and printed material, the bulk of which dates from 1959-1964, chiefly relates to the CBS documentary. Member of the Norfolk Committee for Public Schools.

Dates: 1952-1976, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/13/1977
Found in: ODU Community Collections