Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3

Filtered By

  • Topic: Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century X
  • Topic: School integration--Massive resistance movement X
  • Topic: Race relations--History--20th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
African Americans--Education--Virginia--Norfolk 2
African Americans--Segregation 2
Public schools--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Segregation in education--Virginia--Norfolk 2
Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 1
∨ more
Busing for school integration--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Discrimination against African Americans 1
Racism--Prevention 1
School closings--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Virginia--Politics and government 1
Virginia--Politics and government--1865-1950 1
Women--Virginia--Social conditions 1
∧ less
 
People/Organizations
Mason, Vivian Carter (1900-1982) 2
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 2
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation (Norfolk, Va.) 2
Human Relations Council (Norfolk, Va.) 1
Norfolk Public Schools (Norfolk, Va.) 1
∨ more
Powell, Adam Clayton (1908-1972) 1
∧ less
 

Vivian Carter Mason Interviews

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 53
Abstract

Founding member of the Women’s Council for Interracial Cooperation and an active participant in the Civil Rights movement. Contains transcripts and audiotapes of an interview that documents her life and the Civil Rights movement in Norfolk.

Dates: 1978; Other: Date acquired: 07/19/1982
Found in: ODU Community Collections

Norfolk Public Schools Desegregation Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 92
Abstract This collection dating from 1922-2008, contains correspondence, memorandum, depositions, court orders, recollections, statistical testing data, printed material, artifacts, and maps.The bulk of the collection provides a glimpse into the decisions made by the School Board through court documentation and the public sentiment during the integration process in Norfolk. While most of the collection deals with desegregation, it also includes school directories and calendars before and after...
Dates: circa 1922-2008, undated; Other: Date acquired: 12/14/2007
Found in: ODU Community Collections

Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 54
Abstract

Founded in 1945 as an interracial organization designed to address concerns with education, health, and housing among the Afro-American community in Norfolk. Predecessor to the Norfolk Human Relations Council. Includes correspondence, newspapers clippings, minutes, reports, pamphlets, and membership lists. Bulk of the organization’s records are in the archives at Norfolk State University.

Dates: 1939-1964, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/19/1982
Found in: ODU Community Collections