Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 2 of 2

Filtered By

  • Topic: Virginia--Politics and government X
  • Topic: School integration--Massive resistance movement X
  • People/Organizations: Virginia. General Assembly X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Topic
Busing for school integration--Virginia 1
City council members--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Democratic Party (Va.) 1
Governors--Election--History--20th century 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Norfolk 1

Henry E. Howell, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 1
Abstract Henry Evans Howell, Jr. served in the General Assembly and as Lieutenant Governor (1971-1973). Unsuccessful candidate for Governor of Virginia three times (1969, 1973,1977). Bulk of the collection deals with his career in politics, first in Norfolk and, after 1968, on the statewide level. Documents Democratic Party affairs from 1948 through 1977. Also includes promotional audio and video clips created as part of Howell's campaigns for the Virginia governorship in 1969, 1973 and 1977....
Dates: circa 1928-1999, undated; Majority of material found within 1960-1978; Other: Date acquired: 11/04/1974

A.E.S. Stephens Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 19
Abstract

Served in both the House of Delegates (1929-1941) and the State Senate (1941-1952), and as Lieutenant Governor (1952-1961). Ran unsuccessfully for the Democratic nomination for Governor in 1961 against Albertis Harrison. Centers around this unsuccessful campaign and contains papers focusing on the issue of Massive Resistance to integration, dating to the early 1950s.

Dates: 1949-1961, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/20/1977