Race relations--History--20th century
Found in 8 Collections and/or Records:
Hugh Lee Butler Papers
Served on the Norfolk City Council from 1902 to 1938. Papers relate to his service on the Norfolk City Council during the Great Depression and as chairman of Local Draft Board No. 1 during World War I.
Desegregation of Virginia Education (DOVE) Collection
The collection contains materials dated mainly from the early 1950s through the 1960s and 70s but also houses materials from the 21st Century related to the 50th Anniversary of the End of Massive Resistance. The collection also focuses on events, legal cases, media coverage, and photographs of desegregation in Virginia. Specific regions represented in the collection are the City of Norfolk, Prince Edward County, Farmville, Charlottesville and the Eastern Shore of Virginia.
Michael D'Orso Collection on the Rosewood Massacre
Writer for the Virginia Pilot Newspaper, author of 13 nonfiction books. This collection contains D’Orso’s notes and research material collected while writing Like Judgment Day: The Ruin and Redemption of a Town Called Rosewood. The collection includes interview tapes and transcripts, photographs, newspaper clippings, and other research materials.
Vivian Carter Mason Interviews
Founding member of the Women’s Council for Interracial Cooperation and an active participant in the Civil Rights movement. Contains transcripts and audiotapes of an interview that documents her life and the Civil Rights movement in Norfolk.
David P. Neff Papers
The collection contains documents used by Dr. Neff during the development of his master’s thesis, “The Defenders of State Sovereignty and Individual Liberties, 1954-1967.”
Norfolk Public Schools Desegregation Collection
Michael J. Stolee Papers
The collection contains material related to Stolee’s work as an expert witness in 68 school desegregation cases in the US including Norfolk. Stolle helped to design Norfolk 1971 school busing plan.The material includes the court proceedings, testimony, newspaper clippings, photographs, invoices and correspondence as well as his narrative of some of the cases.
Women's Council for Interracial Cooperation Records
Founded in 1945 as an interracial organization designed to address concerns with education, health, and housing among the Afro-American community in Norfolk. Predecessor to the Norfolk Human Relations Council. Includes correspondence, newspapers clippings, minutes, reports, pamphlets, and membership lists. Bulk of the organization’s records are in the archives at Norfolk State University.