Skip to main content

Harvey Stokes Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: DCR MG 7

Scope and Contents

The collection includes correspondence, programs, publicity material, as well as newspaper articles concerning the work of composer Harvey Stokes.

Dates

  • 1980-2004
  • Other: Date acquired: 11/00/1999

Creator

Extent

0.40 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Harvey J. Stokes is a Professor of Music at Hampton University, where he is theĀ  founder and director of the Computer Music Labratory. He recieved his PhD in Music Composition from Michigan State University, a Masters of Music from the University of Georgia, and a Bachelors of Music from East Carolina University. Dr. Stokes is the author of two books, Compositional Language in the Oratorio The Second Act: the Composer as Analyst and A Selected Annotated Bibliography on Italian Serial Compositions. Several of his pieces have been featured on Oxford String Quartet recordings.

Note written by Brian Jay Rinaldo

Language of Materials

English

Source of Acquisition

Harvey J. Stokes

Method of Acquisition

Gift of Harvey J. Stokes

Title
A Guide to the Harvey Stokes Papers
Author
Brian Jay Rinaldo
Date
00/00/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Diehn Composers Room Collection Repository

Contact:
189 Diehn Fine & Performing Arts Center
1339 49th St.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350