Skip to main content

Old Dominion University Dialogue Radio Broadcasts

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 6-4E

Scope and Contents

This collection contains reel-to-reel audiotapes of the Old Dominion University Radio Broadcasts. Some of the topics discussed include Blacks in the American Revolution, an interview with track star Jesse Owens, and the Virginia Bicentennial Parade of American Music in 1976.

Dates

  • 1974-1980
  • Other: Date acquired: 12/11/1981

Creator

Extent

10.00 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

During the 1970’s, Old Dominion University (ODU) created and broadcasted radio “dialogues,” which consisted of taped public service interviews. The interviews covered on a wide range of topics, such as campus-related issues, the economy, every-day living, and problems over-seas. The segments were recorded on reel-to-reel audio tapes and each one was roughly half-an-hour long. Most of the interviews were done with professors from Old Dominion University, or neighboring schools and programs. Old Dominion University’s radio network began in 1973, as an extension of the Office of Information Services.  It was started by the office’s director, Jack Battenfield, and the director of the radio program, Marty Price. ODU Dialogues broadcasted across the east coast and was aired on more than fifty stations, from New York to Alabama and was also featured on WHRO-TV in 1976. The program was run primarily by faculty, though there were student workers as well. Marty Price was later replaced by Starr Merritt, a former anchorman for WVEC-TV Weekend News, as director. Most of the segments were dialogue broadcasts that focused on a specific topic. There were thirteen half-hour programs, however, dedicated to the Virginia Bicentennial Parade of American Music. In cooperation with National Federation of Music Clubs, the broadcasts played certain selections submitted by Virginia composers and performers as part of the state’s celebration. The series was funded by the Exxon Company and prepared by the Old Dominion University Department of Music. It was directed and coordinated by the department’s Dr. Harold Hawn and Professor Allan Owen, while Professor Robert Young worked as the announcer.

Note written by Sonia Yaco

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

During the 1970’s, Old Dominion University (ODU) created and broadcasted radio “dialogues,” which consisted of taped public service interviews. The interviews covered on a wide range of topics, such as campus-related issues, the economy, every-day living, and problems over-seas. The segments were recorded on reel-to-reel audio tapes and each one was roughly half-an-hour long. Most of the interviews were done with professors from Old Dominion University, or neighboring schools and programs.

Arrangement Note

This colllection is organized into two series: Series I: Dialogue Broadcasts; and Series II: Virginia Bicentennial Parade of American Music. Series I: Dialogue Broadcasts. This series contains reel-to-reel audio tapes of dialogue broadcasts. Box 1 is organized chronologically and by subject. This rest of series is organized by program or master number. Series II: Virginia Bicentennial Parade of American Music. This series is composed of thirteen half-hour reel-to-reel programs focusing on the music of Virginia as part of the state’s bicentennial celebration in 1976. Most of the individual programs contain their corresponding scripts. Each program is paired with a copy. This series is organized numerically, by program number.

Source of Acquisition

Office of Information Services

Method of Acquisition

Donation.

Processing Information

The collection was processed and finding aid created by Sonia Yaco, Special Collections Librarian, in 2012.

Title
A Guide to the Old Dominion University Dialogue Radio Broadcasts
Author
Sonia Yaco
Date
10/31/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350