Skip to main content

Old Dominion University--History

 Topic
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 28 Collections and/or Records:

Board of Visitors Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 1-1A
Abstract The records of the Old Dominion University Board of Visitors contains office files of the board, including correspondence, resolutions, committee records, proceedings, and agendas.
Dates: circa 1920-2010; Other: Date acquired: 09/23/1974

Commencement Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 6-6E
Scope and Contents This collection contains documents related to commencement at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, Old Dominion College, and Old Dominion University. Contains commencement addresses, audio tapes of commencement ceremonies, and commencement ceremony programs. Digitized versions of commencement programs in PDF format are included for years spanning. The audiotapes of commencement ceremonies are in reel to reel format.
Dates: 1945-2019

Francis N. Crenshaw Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 1-1B1
Abstract Francis N. Crenshaw was a member of Old Dominion University's Board of Visitors (1968-1976). Material relates to his service as member and rector of the Board. The collection also contains papers of his father, Captain Russell Crenshaw (1886-1975), that chiefly relate to his service in the U.S. Navy during World War II.
Dates: 1927-1978, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/17/1976

Dean of the College of Arts and Letters Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-1A
Abstract The College of Arts and Letters of the Dean’s Office Records, includes the College of Arts and Letters faculty and committee members, meetings, and minutes; programs and activities; and files from the Advisory Council, Academic Council and Council of Deans.
Dates: 1963-2015, undated

Dean of the Darden College of Education and Professional Studies Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 19-1A
Scope and Contents This collection contains records produced and received by the Dean of the Darden College of Education at Old Dominion University. The collection includes the dean's correspondence, information on the graduate program, teacher education, and publicity material for the college. The bulk of the material dates prior to 1986 when the college was organized as a school.
Dates: 1962-2018, undated; Majority of material found within 1962-1980; Other: Date acquired: 07/09/1976

Department of English Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-3A
Abstract Old Dominion University Department of English Records contains reports, memos, newsletters, and dialect research and survey forms, dated circa 1934-1990.
Dates: circa 1934-1990, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/17/2005

Department of Women's Studies Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-28A
Scope and Contents The collection contains administrative and financial documents, course descriptions, event flyers and brochures for the Women's Studies Department at Old Dominion University. The bulk of the collection features Women's Studies News, events, and courses offered throughout its duration.
Dates: 1973-2019, undated

Intercollegiate Athletics Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 2-8A
Abstract The collection includes guides, programs, publicity, newsletters, tickets, bumper stickers for men and women’s basketball, football, lacrosse, sailing, golf and other sports. Administrative correspondence is also included.
Dates: 1930-2019, undated; Majority of material found within 1975-2000

Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary and Old Dominion College Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 33
Abstract These papers documents the college’s early years as a two-year branch campus, the industrial training courses during World War II, the creation of the Evening College and Technical Institute,  and its transition to an accredited university. Included in the records are correspondence, newspapers, reports, college histories, building plans, bulletins, course descriptions and syllabi, newspaper clippings, and scrapbooks.
Dates: circa 1930-1979, undated; Majority of material found within 1940-1960

Office of Alumni Relations Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 6-2A
Abstract The Old Dominion University Office of Alumni Relations Records includes administrative letters, pamphlets, reports, event programs, invitations, and memorabilia of the ODU Alumni Relations and Govertment Relations office from the 1960s to the 2000s.
Dates: 1960-2018, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/26/2008

Office of Institutional Research and Assessment Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 5-18A
Scope and Contents The collection consists of long-range planning studies, surveys, reports, "quality of life" surveys, and strategic plans created by the Office of Institutional Research and Assessment at Old Dominion University.
Dates: circa 1940-2009, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/18/1980

Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 5-1A
Scope and Contents This collection contains Provost and Office of Academic Affairs administrative and policy files, reports, and other material. Portions of this collection may contain confidential and sensitive information. Please contact Special Collections and University Archives with a list of the boxes and folders you would like to access prior to visiting.
Dates: 1956-2017, undated; Other: Date acquired: 08/13/1976

Office of Research and the Research Foundation Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 2-14A
Abstract The Office of Research and the Research Foundation papers document the functioning of the Office of Research and the Research Foundation. Contents range in date from 1965 to 2010 and include final reports of funded grants, correspondence, newsletters, and various other publications.
Dates: 1965-2015

Office of Student Life. Greek Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 7-12A
Abstract The Office of Student Life: Greek Records consists of newsletters and memorandum, produced by the Office of Student Life (which later became Student Affairs) related to Greek life at Old Dominion University.
Dates: 1975-1980

Office of University Relations Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 6-3A
Abstract The ODU-University Relations Records contains items from the Office of the Vice President of University Relations as well as from the Office of Information Services, whose predecessor was Collegiate Relations. It includes correspondence, bumper stickers, reports and product approvals, brochures, newsletters and newspaper clippings.
Dates: circa 1947-2005, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/09/1976

Old Dominion University Accreditation Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 5-1A1
Scope and Contents This collection contains accreditation correspondence, reports, and materials regarding Old Dominion University, the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS), the Commission on Colleges (COC), and the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV). Reports to the Nation College Athletic Association (NCAA) and Title IV are also included.
Dates: 1951-2012, undated

Old Dominion University Dialogue Radio Broadcasts

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 6-4E
Abstract During the 1970’s, Old Dominion University (ODU) created and broadcasted radio “dialogues,” which consisted of taped public service interviews. The interviews covered on a wide range of topics, such as campus-related issues, the economy, every-day living, and problems over-seas. The segments were recorded on reel-to-reel audio tapes and each one was roughly half-an-hour long. Most of the interviews were done with professors from Old Dominion University, or neighboring schools and programs.
Dates: 1974-1980; Other: Date acquired: 12/11/1981

Old Dominion University Faculty and Staff Directories

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 8-3A2
Abstract This collection contains faculty and staff directories for the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, Old Dominion College, Old Dominion University, as well as the Continuing Education Divisions for both Old Dominion College and Old Dominion University.
Dates: 1947-2008

Old Dominion University Faculty Handbooks

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 8-3A5
Abstract The Old Dominion University Faculty Handbooks collection contains faculty handbooks for the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, Old Dominion College, Old Dominion University, as well as the Continuing Education Divisions for both Old Dominion College and Old Dominion University from 1947 to 2003.
Dates: 1947-2003

Old Dominion University Multimedia Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 29
Abstract Collection consisting of audio, film, and video pertaining to various events taking place at Old Dominion University.
Dates: 1956-2001, undated