Skip to main content

Dean of the College of Arts and Letters Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-1A

Scope and Contents

This collection includes records related to the College of Arts and Letters. The records contain subject files, meeting minutes, committee records, flyers, photographs, and publications produced by the college.

Dates

  • 1963-2015, undated

Creator

Extent

14.40 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

The College of Arts and Letters is the largest academic college of Old Dominion University, which is committed to encouraging its students to contribute to society and to apply their knowledge to solving social issues and improving the world around them. The College offers a cross-section of majors in the humanities, the creative arts, and the social sciences. The institutes and centers within the college encourage interdisciplinary exchanges among faculty and students alike, and they foster the critical thinking skills that all students need to ensure success in the global marketplace.

Note written by Special Collections Staff

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

The College of Arts and Letters of the Dean’s Office Records, includes the College of Arts and Letters faculty and committee members, meetings, and minutes; programs and activities; and files from the Advisory Council, Academic Council and Council of Deans.

Arrangement Note

The collection is arranged into two series: Series I: Administrative Records; and Series II: Acc. 2019.008.

Technical Access Requirements

The digital photographs on compact discs need access to a computer to view.

Source of Acquisition

College of Arts and Letters

Method of Acquisition

Various transfers.

Related Materials

Photographs of the College of Arts and Letters faculty, staff, events, and other topics can also be found in the Old Dominion University Photographic and Multimedia Collection (RG 32).

Processing Information

Finding aid was created by Sonia Yaco, Special Collections Librarian, in 2012.

Title
A Guide to the Dean of the College of Arts and Letters Records
Author
Sonia Yaco; Mel Frizzell
Date
04/19/2019
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350