Skip to main content

Office of University Relations Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 6-3A

Scope and Contents

This collection contains records from the Office of University Relations as well as from the Office of Information Services, whose predecessor was Collegiate Relations. It includes correspondence, bumper stickers, reports and product approvals. Internal and external public relations publications such as brochures and newspaper clippings are also included.

Dates

  • circa 1947-2005, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 06/09/1976

Creator

Extent

4.40 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

University Relations has been part of Old Dominion University since its days as the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary. Prior to 1949, the Division’s Director handled all public relations. In 1949 it was also known as the Committee on Publications and Public Relations. Dorothy Lippincott was named Director of College Relations and Placement in 1958. In the late 1980s and early 1990s, University Relations worked with Collegiate Licensing and many other companies to design and produce Old Dominion memorabilia and clothing. Today, it is part of the Office of Institutional Advancement. University Relations supports the efforts of the Office of Institutional Advancement through media relations, public information, the publication of periodicals and a daily news Web page, and photography. They also provide comprehensive public relations services toward the goal of promoting the advancement of knowledge and offering leadership to the state and nation in teaching, research and service.

Note written by Special Collections Staff

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

The ODU-University Relations Records contains items from the Office of the Vice President of University Relations as well as from the Office of Information Services, whose predecessor was Collegiate Relations. It includes correspondence, bumper stickers, reports and product approvals, brochures, newsletters and newspaper clippings.

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized into five series: Series I: Civil Rights; Series II: Licensing; Series III: Publications; Series IV: Public Relations; and Series V: The Newsletter, Intercom, and Greater News.

Source of Acquisition

David T. Shufflebarger

Method of Acquisition

Accession #A76-27 and various transfers.

Processing Information

The collection was processed and finding aid created by Sonia Yaco, Special Collections Librarian, in 2011.

Title
A Guide to the Office of University Relations Records
Author
Sonia Yaco; Mel Frizzell
Date
10/24/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350