Skip to main content

Office of Institutional Research and Assessment Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 5-18A

Scope and Contents

The collection consists of long-range planning studies, surveys, reports, "quality of life" surveys, and strategic plans created by the Office of Institutional Research and Assessment at Old Dominion University.

Dates

  • circa 1940-2009, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 11/18/1980

Creator

Extent

20.00 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

The Office of Institutional Research and Assessment (previously Institutional Planning), "analytical arm" of Old Dominion Unviersity's central administartion. As part of its function, the office assists in systematically planning the University's future, managing its resources, and assessing its performance. The office's role is to provide analytical and technical support to University executive management in regard to strategic planning and data-based decision making; coordinate statisical data to state, federal, and private agencies; produce the University factbook for the university community; as well as create and maintain statistical databases.

Note written by Kathleen Smith

Language of Materials

English

Arrangement Note

This collection is arranged in chronological order.

Source of Acquisition

Dr. Mark Perkins

Method of Acquisition

Gift. Accession #A80-43 and various transfers.

Processing Information

The collection was processed and finding aid created by Sonia Yaco, Special Collections Librarian, in 2010.
Title
A Guide to the Office of Institutional Research and Assessment Records
Author
Sonia Yaco
Date
10/24/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350