Skip to main content

Elizabeth Ann Burton Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-3B4

Scope and Contents

This collection includes letters as well as typed and handwritten drafts of poetry written by Elizabeth Ann Burton, a faculty member at Old Dominion University. Included are the original manuscripts for Burton’s published book of poetry, Waiting for the Messiah, as well as the draft of a second book, which was never published.

Dates

  • 1984-1997, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 00/00/2000

Creator

Extent

0.40 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Elizabeth Ann Burton (1958-1990) was a poet born in Richmond, VA, who lived in Painter, on the Eastern Shore of Virginia.  A member of the Poet Society of Virginia, she held a Bachelor of Arts in English literature from Old Dominion University.  In 1990, Burton’s book of poetry, Waiting for the Messiah, was published.  Additionally, she had poems published in a volume of The Poet’s Domain, a book of poetry featuring work by regional authors of the Mid-Atlantic states.  She was working on a creative writing degree at Old Dominion University and a second book of poetry when she died. Burton’s manuscripts were collected and donated in 2000 by Mildred Guilds Peele, former lecturer in the English department at Old Dominion University, and wife of E. Vernon Peele, professor of English at ODU and past dean of the School of Arts and Sciences.

Note written by Elizabeth Vincelette

Language of Materials

English

Source of Acquisition

Mildred Guilds Peele

Method of Acquisition

Gift.

Processing Information

The collection was processed and finding aid created by Elizabeth Vincelette in 2014.

Title
A Guide to the Elizabeth Ann Burton Papers
Author
Elizabeth Vincelette
Date
02/20/2014
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350