Skip to main content

Harold S. Wilson Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-5B2

Scope and Contents

This collection includes material related to personal experiences and tributes of Confederate soldiers in Virginia Companies collected by Harold S. Wilson, a professor in the Department of History. Topics include primary accounts of Virginia battles, daily soldier life, military morale, and southern ideologies,

Dates

  • 1813-1978
  • Other: Date acquired: 03/25/1977

Creator

Extent

0.20 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Dr. Harold S. Wilson received his doctorate at Emory University in 1966 and is currently a professor of History at Old Dominion University.  He has written several publications including an article about Matthew Fontaine Maury, a relative of William L. Fontaine. Other publications consist of books, editorials and book and manuscript reviews on topics such as Civil War, southern culture and the Progressive Era.

Note written by Sonia Yaco

Language of Materials

English

Source of Acquisition

Harold S. Wilson

Method of Acquisition

Gift. Accession #A77-20

Related Materials

Other collections related to the American Civil War can be found on the Civil War research guide at [url=https://guides.lib.odu.edu/c.php?g=502890&p=3443335]https://guides.lib.odu.edu/c.php?g=502890&p=3443335[/url].

Processing Information

The collection was processed and finding aid created by Sonia Yaco, Special Collections Librarian, in 2009.
Title
A Guide to the Harold S. Wilson Papers
Author
Sonia Yaco
Date
03/27/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350