Skip to main content

Phillip Raisor Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-3B5

Scope and Contents

This collection contains material created and collected by Phillip Raisor, a professor in the English Department at Old Dominion University. Included in the collection are material related to the Literary Festival at Old Dominion and personal essays written by Raisor.

Dates

  • 1977-1979, undated

Creator

Extent

0.40 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Phillip Raisor was instrumental in founding the Creative Writing Program and the annual Literary Festival while he was a professor of English at Old Dominion University. Raisor was also the English Department chair. Raisor has written short stories, poetry, essays, and articles which have been feartured in numerous literary publications such as the New Virginia Review and Contemporary Literature. He is currently a Professor Emeritus of English at Old Dominion University.

Note written by Kathleen Smith

Language of Materials

English

Source of Acquisition

Phillip Raisor

Method of Acquisition

Gift.

Related Materials

Old Dominion University Literary Festival Collection (RG 17-3A1)

Processing Information

The collection was processed and finding aid created by Abigail Johnson in 2011.

Title
A Guide to the Phillip Raisor Papers
Author
Abigail Johnson
Date
08/06/2014
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350