Skip to main content

Old Dominion University--Faculty

 Topic
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 33 Collections and/or Records:

American Association of University Professors (AAUP) Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 36-10A
Abstract

This collection includes meeting minutes, reports, and correspondences. Organization documents include petitions, resolutions, the constitution and by-laws of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP). The collection has information on the AAUP on a local, state level but also contains material on national level activities.

Dates: 1960-1983

Walter Herman Bell Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-4B1
Scope and Contents

The collection contains letters and photographs pertaining to Walter Herman Bell and his relationship with Mr. and Mrs. Cecil B. Smith.

Dates: 1962-1970, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/07/1980

Thomas Blossom Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-5B1
Scope and Contents

The collection contains material related to the professional life of Thomas Blossom, a professor in the Department of History at Old Dominion University. The collection also contains some genealogy information on Blossom's family. An oral history with Thomas Blossom is available on the Old Dominion University Libraries Digital Collections website.

Dates: 1925-1977, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/12/1976

S. Eliot Breneiser Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-6B1
Abstract

Professor of Music at Old Dominion University. Collection relates to his position on the Faculty Senate, Faculty Caucus and University Senate where he served as the Chairman.

Dates: 1965-1975; Other: Date acquired: 08/16/1978

Coalition of Black Faculty and Administrators (CBFA) Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 36-3A
Scope and Contents This collection includes material related to the Coalition of Black Faculty and Administrators (CBFA), a faculty organization at Old Dominion University. The objective of the organization is to promote the recruitment and retention, promotion and tenure, and greater involvement of African American faculty and administrators in college life. The coalition also works to provide networking opportunities and a forum for African American issues. Included in the collection are minutes and agendas,...
Dates: circa 1986-2012, undated; Other: Date acquired: 04/21/2011

Dean of the Darden College of Education and Professional Studies Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 19-1A
Scope and Contents

This collection contains records produced and received by the Dean of the Darden College of Education at Old Dominion University. The collection includes the dean's correspondence, information on the graduate program, teacher education, and publicity material for the college. The bulk of the material dates prior to 1986 when the college was organized as a school.

Dates: 1962-2018, undated; Majority of material found within 1962-1980; Other: Date acquired: 07/09/1976

Dean of the School of Business Administration Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 18-1A
Scope and Contents

This collection contains administrative files from the School of Business Administration at Old Dominion University. The bulk of the records consists of subject files of the dean as well as annual reports of the school.

Dates: 1959-1977, undated; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/1974

Dean of the School of Sciences and Health Professions Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 22-1A
Scope and Contents

This collection contains the records of the Dean of the School of Sciences and Health Professions. Prior to 1986, the records of both the College of Sciences and College of Health Sciences can be found in this collection. The records mostly consist of subject files pertaining to departmental correspondence, curricular activities, and correspondence with various science and health science professional organizations.

Dates: 1964-1980, undated; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/1977

Wallace Dreyer Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-2B4
Abstract Wallace Dreyer, an artist, was an adjunct assistant professor and director of the photography program from 1966-1980. The collection contains professional as well as personal photographs, a sketchbook, professional and personal correspondence, a high school year book, newspaper clippings, newspaper advertisements for his art gallery business, certificates pertaining to his elementary school education and x-ray technician certification, x-ray technician employment, and his capture of enemy...
Dates: 1907-1993, undated; Other: Date acquired: 09/15/2009

Faculty Emeriti Association Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 36-6A
Scope and Contents

This collection contains a collection of materials related to the Old Dominion University Faculty Emeriti Association. Included in the collection are bylaws, information on events, meeting minutes, newsletters, and other records.

Dates: 1983-2009, undated

Faculty Wives Club Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 36-7A
Abstract

This collection contains handbooks, flyers and scrapbooks of the Faculty Wives Club and Women's Association, a social and service club for wives of ODU faculty and staff. The organization is currently known as the Old Dominion University Monarch Community Alliance.

Dates: 1964-1986, undated

Willard C. Frank, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-5B4
Scope and Contents This colleciton contains research and teaching material, notes, and fliers related to the professional career of Willard C. Frank, Jr., a professor of naval history at Old Dominion University. The bulk of the collection contains material related to Frank's involvement in professional and Old Dominion organizations, as well as Frank's personal research and papers on the navy during the Spanish Civil War. An oral history interview with Willard C. Frank, Jr. can be found on the ...
Dates: circa 1958-2004, undated; Other: Date acquired: 05/20/2008

Friends of Women’s Studies Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-28A1
Scope and Contents

This collection contains material related to the formation of the Friends of Women’s Studies, the development arm of the Old Dominion University Department of Women's Studies. Included in the collection are administrative materials, such as bylaws and correspondence; news articles; newsletters; event invitations; information on grants and scholarships; and photographs.

Dates: circa 1983-2018, undated; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/2005

Albert I. Godden Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 23-2B1
Abstract

This collection documents Old Dominion University professor Albert I. Godden's role in the evolution of technical education and the Technical Institute at Old Dominion University. Material included are newspapers clippings, photographs, correspondence, reports, floor plans, certificates, calendars, and a scrapbook.

Dates: 1949-1972, undated; Other: Date acquired: 08/15/1974

James Bertram Haugh Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 70
Abstract

Old Dominion University Sociology Professor. Received his Ph.D. from the University of Akron in 1978. Author of the book, "Power and Influence in a Southern City." Based on his doctoral thesis, the book explores the power structure of a "Colonial City", which is actually the city of Norfolk, Virginia. The collection relates mainly to his thesis. It includes rough drafts, notes, tapes and transcripts of interviews with prominent Norfolk figures in 1978.

Dates: circa 1962-1978, undated; Other: Date acquired: 01/11/1988

Alexander Brooks "A.B." Jackson Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-2B5
Abstract

Alexander Brooks “A.B.” Jackson began teaching in the Art department in 1967 as the school's first black faculty member. The contents of this collection include photographs taken and collected by Jackson of miscellaneous subjects, as well as photographs of his artwork and excerpts from his poetry.

Dates: circa 1965-1981; Other: Date acquired: 01/28/2011

Alice Rice Jaffe Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-2B1
Abstract

Includes assorted reports, newspaper articles and correspondence, etc. relating to Hampton Roads history and Old Dominion University's early history as Norfolk Division of William and Mary College. Contains material from Jaffe's family including her husband, journalist Louis I. Jaffe, her father, Colonel Henry Rice and ancestor, Captain Samuel Davis.

Dates: 1807-1950, undated; Other: Majority of material found within 1919-1950; Other: Date acquired: 06/01/1977

Dorothy M. Jones Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 18-4A1
Abstract

This collection deals primarily with Dorothy M. Jones' career as a professor at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary. The papers document her studies conducted through classes for the benefit of local businessmen, business correspondence, papers, and published materials.

Dates: 1954-1983; Other: Date acquired: 10/28/1976

Susan Kent Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-13B1
Abstract

Dr. Kent served as a professor of anthropology from 1986 until 2003. She was an expert on hunters and gatherers. Her most extensive field work was her study of the Bushmen and Bakgalagadi of Africa. Collection includes material from her time at ODU, her field notes, and other research material.

Dates: 1975-2003, undated; Other: Date acquired: 00/00/2003

Everett Parker Lesley, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-2B2
Abstract

Collection consists of a large number of photo slides related to his expertise in Byzantine Art and Architecture, as well as printed material, documentation of travels abroad, correspondence and photographs.

Dates: 1907-2010, undated; Other: Date acquired: 07/23/1982