Skip to main content

Faculty Emeriti Association Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 36-6A

Scope and Contents

This collection contains a collection of materials related to the Old Dominion University Faculty Emeriti Association. Included in the collection are bylaws, information on events, meeting minutes, newsletters, and other records.

Dates

  • 1983-2009, undated

Creator

Extent

0.40 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

The Faculty Emeriti Association (FEA), established in 1981, is a club for retired members of Old Dominion University Faculty. The title of emeritus/emerita was created in 1972 and was first granted in 1973 in recognition of dedicated and meritorious service at Old Dominion University and entitles its holders to commensurate rights and privileges. Membership in this exclusive club is only granted by the Old Dominion University Board of Visitors; however individuals of the association may invite administrators and other members of the Old Dominion University community to participate in meetings as non-voting guests. The purpose of this association is to bring together the institution’s faculty emeriti to maintain collegial, scholarly and social relations among the Old Dominion University community, and to further the welfare of the University. Meeting frequently, this social club allows retired professors to remain active with the university and former colleagues.  Members founded a scholarship for children of ODU faculty, meet for a book club, and continue to participate in graduation ceremonies after retirement.  Honorary status is given to those who died while still teaching.

Note written by Courtney Williams

Language of Materials

English

Source of Acquisition

Unknown

Processing Information

The collection was processed and the finding aid was created by Courtney Williams.

Title
A Guide to the Faculty Emeriti Association Records
Author
Courtney Williams
Date
06/06/2014
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350