Skip to main content

James Bertram Haugh Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 70

Scope and Contents

This collection relates mainly to James Bertram Haugh's course work at the University of Akron in 1977 and 1978. The bulk of the collection encompasses his dissertation research. Included are interviews with prominent Norfolk citizens, newspaper articles about the interviewees, resource articles for the study, and several rough drafts of the dissertation. Also found in the collection are other papers and course work by Haugh, and information on the Assembly on the Dimensions of Hunger and Malnutrition, of which Haugh was a part.

Dates

  • circa 1962-1978, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 01/11/1988

Creator

Extent

4.00 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

James Bertram Haugh grew up on a working class dairy farm in Indiana. In high school, he was elected president of the Future Farmers of America and of his senior class. Upon graduation, he enrolled at Carroll College in Waukesha, Wisconsin. After holding several odd labor jobs, he knew that he wanted more in life. This inspired him to achieve better academically. He attempted seminary twice, drove a Chicago Transit Authority bus for a year, and worked for I.B.M. for 6 1/2 years. Later, he began a degree in Urban Studies at Loyola, and worked toward certification in secondary education in 1970. In 1973, James Haugh began teaching in the Sociology department of Old Dominion University, and continued his studies there. At this time, he became increasingly interested in economic, community, political, and labor organization, migrant labor, social change from the standpoint of the powerless, and hunger and malnutrition. In 1974, he became involved in a hunger organization called C.R.O.P. at a conference on hunger in Richmond. Haugh was eventually asked to serve as executive director of the organization. It was these experiences, the connections he made through them, and his desire to learn what is needed to effect positive social change that led him to do his dissertation on power and influence in the Public Voluntary Not for Profit Sector. This study was carried out largely through a series of interviews with notable public figures in a place called "Colonial City" in 1977 and 1978. "Colonial City" is actually Norfolk, Virginia, and the people interviewed are given aliases in his study. Haugh posed these people with questions about the qualities possessed by effective leaders, what it is to be a "Virginian", how things get done, and what could make or break a project in the community. The results of his study are written into a book called Power and Influence in a Colonial City. His dissertation complete, James Bertram Haugh received his Ph.D. in Sociology from the University of Akron, Ohio, in the fall of 1978.

Note written by Special Collections Staff

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

Old Dominion University Sociology Professor. Received his Ph.D. from the University of Akron in 1978. Author of the book, "Power and Influence in a Southern City." Based on his doctoral thesis, the book explores the power structure of a "Colonial City", which is actually the city of Norfolk, Virginia. The collection relates mainly to his thesis. It includes rough drafts, notes, tapes and transcripts of interviews with prominent Norfolk figures in 1978.

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized into five series: Series I: Study of the Public Voluntary Not for Profit Sector of Colonial City; Series II: Other Papers and Course Work by Haugh; Series III: Assembly on the Dimensions of Hunger and Malnutrition; Series IV: Miscellaneous; and Series V: Interview Tapes.

Source of Acquisition

James Bertram Haugh

Method of Acquisition

Gift. Accession #A88-1

Title
A Guide to the James Bertram Haugh Papers
Author
Special Collections Staff
Date
01/24/2014
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350