Skip to main content

American Association of University Professors (AAUP) Records

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 36-10A

Scope and Contents

The records of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) includes meeting minutes, reports, and correspondences. Organization documents include petitions, resolutions, the constitution and bylaws of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP). The collection has information on the AAUP on local, state, and national level activities.

Dates

  • 1960-1983

Creator

Extent

2.40 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

The purpose of American Association of University Professors (AAUP) is to facilitate a more effective cooperation among teachers and research scholars in universities and colleges, to promote the interests of higher education and research, and to increase the usefulness and advance the standards, ideals, and welfare of the profession. The American Association of University Professor’s officially began at the College of William and Mary Norfolk Division on April 26, 1960 with its adoption of a constitution. It continued to be a presence with the school as it developed into Old Dominion College (ODC) and subsequently Old Dominion University (ODU).

Note written by Sonia Yaco

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

This collection includes meeting minutes, reports, and correspondences. Organization documents include petitions, resolutions, the constitution and by-laws of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP). The collection has information on the AAUP on a local, state level but also contains material on national level activities.

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized into two series: Series I: ODC/ODU AAUP; and Series II: Virginia Conference and National AAUP.

Source of Acquisition

Unknown

Processing Information

The collection was processed and finding aid created by Sonia Yaco, Special Collections Librarian, in 2010.
Title
A Guide to the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) Records
Author
Sonia Yaco
Date
10/24/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3023 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350