Skip to main content

Dorothy M. Jones Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 18-4A1

Scope and Contents

This collection deals primarily with Dorothy Jones' career as a professor at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, Old Dominion College, and Old Dominion University. Included in the collection are directories; reports; studies; pamphlets; papers; correspondence; newspaper clippings; photos; speeches, and various other material. The collection does not contain a lot of personal information about Dr. Jones.

Dates

  • 1954-1983
  • Other: Date acquired: 10/28/1976

Creator

Extent

1.60 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Dorothy M. Jones was a professor at Old Dominion University from 1954-1976. She retired after 20 years of teaching and passed away in 1992. Ms. Jones was one of four children of a schoolteacher. Ms. Jones attended Randolph Macon Women's College from 1928 until 1932, when she graduated with her Bachelor's degree in Abnormal Psychology. After graduating from Randolph Macon, Dorothy Jones was offered two fellowships. She decided to accept the fellowship offered by New York University. In 1933, she graduated with a Masters degree in Marketing from New York University. After graduation, Jones began her business career by being retained at Stern Brothers as an Assistant Buyer in the Fashion Department. She later transferred to Lord and Taylor and served in a similar position. Jones would eventually end up working for Consolidated Millinery Department and through that company would be transferred to 3 different states during her 14-year employment with the company. It was when Jones suffered a foot injury that required surgery that she decided to pursue a teaching career. So Jones joined Old Dominion University (then the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary) as the Head of the Merchandising Department in 1954, and continued to serve as the head until 1959. Jones served as the Assistant Professor of Distributive Education during her career in the Merchandising Department as well. When she left that Distributive Education, Ms. Branigan and Joe Bigs followed her to fill that position. Jones served in the capacity of Head of Merchandising for five years until 1959 when she left that position to become the Associate Professor of Business Management in the School of Business, until her retirement in 1976. Jones retired with Emeritus status and she was an integral figure in promoting the conception, establishment, and organization of the ODU Emeriti program. During her career at Old Dominion University, Jones eventually sought funds from local businesses to establish the founding of a Chair of Merchandising within the Business Department. She was unable to obtain this goal before her retirement, a fact that disappointed her. There are two scholarships at Old Dominion University that are connected to Dorothy Jones. The first is one that she established in honor of her parents, which is the Bagwell-Jones scholarship. The second scholarship shows the popularity of Jones with her students and the impact that she had on their lives. A former student of Jones' established it anonymously in her honor.

Note written by Victoria Winn

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

This collection deals primarily with Dorothy M. Jones' career as a professor at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary. The papers document her studies conducted through classes for the benefit of local businessmen, business correspondence, papers, and published materials.

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized into four series: Series I: Head of Merchandising; Series II: Associate Professor of Business Administration; Series III: Retirement; and Series IV: Albums/Scrapbooks.

Source of Acquisition

Dorothy M. Jones

Method of Acquisition

Gift.

Related Materials

Oral Histories in the Perry Library: Dorothy M. Jones

Processing Information

The collection was processed by and finding aid completed by Victoria Winn in February 2005.

Title
A Guide to the Dorothy M. Jones Papers
Author
Victoria Winn, February 2005; Revised by Susan M. Catlett, June 2005
Date
01/24/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350