Skip to main content

J. Henry McCoy Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 1-1B5

Scope and Contents

The papers of J. Henry McCoy document McCoy's professional life as a member of the Old Dominion University Board of Visitors and as Vice-Chair of Tidewater Community College. The collection contains McCoy's correspondence with Old Dominion College/University and Tidewater Community College, the Commonwealth of Virginia, Virginia-Tidewater Dental Association, Alpha Kappa Psi, the US Congress, and Associated Naval Architects. Included also are letters, proposals, program progress reports, meeting minutes, community college general information, and postcards that McCoy collected. McCoy's scrapbook materials include newspaper articles about McCoy's appointment to the Board of Visitors and letters of congratulations on the accomplishment; the hiring and resignation of James L. Bugg, president of Old Dominion University; Old Dominion students' concern over a racist hiring process; and other general news about the university.

Dates

  • circa 1918-1976, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 02/10/1978

Creator

Extent

1.60 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Dr. J. Henry McCoy, Jr. attended Norfolk Division of William and Mary (now Old Dominion University) and graduated from Medical College of Virginia. In 1968, he was appointed to the Old Dominion University Board of Visitors. Later McCoy was appointed Vice-Chairman of the Local Board of Tidewater Community College. During the mid 1980's, Dr. McCoy represented the Kempsville Borough on the Virginia Beach City Council. He became Mayor of Virginia Beach in 1984. His term as Mayor ended in 1986.

Note written by Special Collections Staff

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

Material primarily relates to McCoy's service on the Old Dominion University Board of Visitors and his relationship with Tidewater Community College.

Source of Acquisition

Dr. J. Henry McCoy, Jr.

Method of Acquisition

Gift. Accession #A78-12

Related Materials

For more collections related to the Board of Visitors, please consult the other collections under record group 01.

Title
A Guide to the J. Henry McCoy Papers
Author
Special Collections Staff
Date
02/04/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350