Skip to main content

Arthur George Williams Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-4B3

Scope and Contents

The collection contains a black and white photograph of Arthur George Williams, Professor of Modern Languages at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, in his study as well as a letter written during World War II about giving guns from the war to a friend in the United States. It is unclear if the letter relates to Professor Williams.

Dates

  • 1936-1945
  • Other: Date acquired: 12/13/2018

Creator

Extent

0.05 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Arthur George Williams was Professor of Modern Languages at the Norfolk Division of the College of William & Mary from 1931 to 1938. He received his bachelor of arts and master of arts from Roanoke College and another master of arts from University of Chicago. Before coming to the Norfolk Division, Williams was also Professor of Modern Languages at the College of William and Mary from 1918-1930 and the Head of the Modern Languages Department at the short-lived Atlantic University (Virginia Beach) in 1930.

Note written by

Language of Materials

English

Custodial History

The letter and photograph were previously owned by the Goochland County Historical Society before being sent to William & Mary, which was then given to Special Collections and Univeristy Archives.

Source of Acquisition

Jay Gaidmore, William & Mary, Gift

Method of Acquisition

Acc. 2018.039 was received by Special Collections and University Archives from the donor via U.S.P.S. on 12/12/2018.

Processing Information

The collection was accessioned and minimally processed by Steven Bookman, University Archivist, in December 2018.

Title
A Guide to the Arthur George Williams Papers
Author
Steven Bookman, University Archivist
Date
12/14/2018
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350