Abstract

The collection contains materials concerning the activities of the Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads, whose mission was to stimulate cultural vitality and to facilitate the development of healthy and dynamic cultural institutions throughout the region.. Records consist of reports, meeting minutes, grant applications and materials, correspondence, newspaper clippings, announcements, brochures, newsletters, directories, and photographs from 1972-2018.

Scope and Contents

The collection contains letters written by Raymond Galindo, of Staten Island, New York, to his parents while serving in the United States Navy in the post-World War II era. The letters discuss his day to day life in the Navy including training at Camp Peary, Virginia and working in the kitchen. Galindo eventually served on the USS Taconic (AGC-17) command ship. Most of the letters contain the original envelopes and two photographs are also included.

Scope and Contents This collection consists of 22 photographs, 14 mounted for exhibit purposes, that depict the Jamestown Exposition of 1907, the tercentennial of the settlement at Jamestown, Virginia in 1607. The tercentennial took place in Norfolk, Virginia on land that is now part of Naval Station Norfolk. The collection includes photographs of a painting of Sir Walter Raleigh, a statue of Pocahontas, and depict such scenes as the Arch of Government Pier, the Grand Basin, the Auditorium, Willoughby...

Scope and Contents

This collection contains photographs assembled by Ronald Kledzik, class of 1952 of the Norfolk Division of William & Mary, while working on the Pow Wow yearbook. Includes images of the men's basketball team, Delta Omega Phi, and other images of student life at the Norfolk Division.

Scope and Contents This collection is a portfolio of 46 prints mounted on Bristol board like material. The photographs show different parts of Norfolk including: Little Creek Road, Hampton Boulevard, Granby Street, Downtown, and Wards Corner. Notable locations and events include a local gay bar called Nutty Buddy's, Norfolk Naval homecomings, The Hague, Oceanview, and Waterside. The photographs are artistic in nature, particularly in the style of street photography. The photographs have unique compositions and...

Scope and Contents

This collection contains photographs and slides of both Charles Sibley's artwork, of Sibley himself, as well as trips around the world, including Greece and Turkey. The bulk of the photographs and slides are in color.

Scope and Contents

The collection contains a black and white photograph of Arthur George Williams, Professor of Modern Languages at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, in his study as well as a letter written during World War II about giving guns from the war to a friend in the United States. It is unclear if the letter relates to Professor Williams.