Skip to main content

Jamestown Exposition Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 68

Scope and Contents

This collection consists of 22 photographs, 14 mounted for exhibit purposes, that depict the Jamestown Exposition of 1907, the tercentennial of the settlement at Jamestown, Virginia in 1607. The tercentennial took place in Norfolk, Virginia on land that is now part of Naval Station Norfolk. The collection includes photographs of a painting of Sir Walter Raleigh, a statue of Pocahontas, and depict such scenes as the Arch of Government Pier, the Grand Basin, the Auditorium, Willoughby Boulevard West, the Pennsylvania Building, Machinery and Transportation Building, Pocahontas Street, the Virginia Building, and Raleigh Square. Also, includes photographs of various exhibits, including the Formosa Tea Garden, the Japanese Exhibit, and the Miller Brothers 101 Ranch of Fort Bliss, Oklahoma. The latter was a wild west show featuring cowboys, cowgirls, Indians, Mexicans, and buffaloes and was one of the most popular attractions.

Dates

  • 1907

Extent

0.80 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Language of Materials

English

Source of Acquisition

Unknown provenance

Method of Acquisition

The collection was given to Special Collections and University Archives sometime prior to 1999.

Related Materials

1907 Jamestown Exposition, St. Paul's Episcopal Church Papers (MG 89). Other material related to the 1907 Jamestown Exposition are housed at the Virginia Mueseum of History and Culture in Richmond and the Sargeant Memorial Room in the Slover branch of the Norfolk Public Library.

Related Publications

The Official Blue Book of the Jamestown Ter-Centennial Exposition, 1907 (Call Number: T648.B1 A5).

Processing Information

Processed by Jay Gaidmore in June 1999.

Title
A Guide to the Jamestown Exposition Collection
Author
Jay Gaidmore
Date
08/04/2017
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350