Skip to main content

Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 120

Scope and Contents

The collection contains materials concerning the activities of the Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads, a non-profit organization founded in 1983 that advocated and encouraged the arts in the Hampton Roads Region. The records consist of reports, meeting minutes, grant applications and materials, correspondence, newspaper clippings, announcements, brochures, newsletters, directories, and photographs.

Dates

  • circa 1972-2018, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 09/11/2014

Creator

Extent

13.20 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

The Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads was a non-profit organization that advocated for and encouraged the arts in the Hampton Roads Region. The alliance’s mission was to stimulate cultural vitality and to facilitate the development of healthy and dynamic cultural institutions throughout the region.  The Cultural Alliance served as a “Chamber of Culture” for the Hampton Roads area by gathering information, coordinating efforts, and raising awareness of cultural opportunities. The alliance achieved this through by advocating public and private financial investments into the arts and into cultural organizations, encouraging community participation in the arts and in cultural activities, and providing forums and programs for communication and collaboration. Overall the Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads assisted more than 350 arts and cultural organizations; individual artists, writers, dancers, and arts professionals; museums; opera and symphony organizations; a theater; a ballet academy, and a variety of dance troupes, choral groups, art centers, galleries, and so forth in the Hampton Roads area. The Cultural Alliance was formed in 1983, out of two separate community arts groups: Metropolitan Arts Congress of Tidewater and the Peninsula Council of the Arts. The process leading to the formation of the Cultural Alliance, began in 1981 when the Metropolitan Arts Congress published, a study on the cultural needs of South Hampton Roads, titled “Blueprint for a Rainbow.” The study was funded by the Norfolk Foundation, and it recommended major cultural planning involving Southside Hampton Roads cultural institutions.  In 1982, Southside and Peninsula cultural organizations embarked on a seven month planning process led by the nationally known arts planner Ralph Burgard.  The process was led by a citizen’s planning committee made up of leaders from the local business, culture, education, government, and public service sectors. Former Virginia Beach mayor, Dr. Clarence Holland, chaired this committee.  The result of this process was the founding of the Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads and the publishing of the “Greater Hampton Roads Cultural Action Plan” in June 1983. Throughout the years the Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads played an active role in carrying out its mission within the Hampton Roads cultural and arts community. This was done through numerous community events, concerts, award programs, conferences and workshops. The alliance was also a major protector of arts funding, and was very active in trying to prevent further national and state funding cuts. On April 30, 2018, the Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads dissolved and ceased operations, due to declining membership and that arts advocacy programs were now offered by other resources in Hampton Roads. The Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads will always be remembered as a “unifying voice” for arts and culture within the Hampton Roads area. Sources: ““Press Release” Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads webpage, March 26, 2018. http://www.culturalli.org/index.html.

Note written by Kathleen Smith

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

The collection contains materials concerning the activities of the Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads, whose mission was to stimulate cultural vitality and to facilitate the development of healthy and dynamic cultural institutions throughout the region.. Records consist of reports, meeting minutes, grant applications and materials, correspondence, newspaper clippings, announcements, brochures, newsletters, directories, and photographs from 1972-2018.

Arrangement Note

The collection is arranged into four series (administrative, activities, media/publicity, and miscellaneous) reflecting the facets of the Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads.

Source of Acquisition

Joan L. Rhodes-Copeland, Executive Director of the Cultural Alliance of Hampton Roads.

Method of Acquisition

Gfit. Accession #A2014-33

Accruals and Additions

Acc. 2018.007 was received by Special Collections and University Archives from the donor on 4/23/2018.

Processing Information

Processed by Mel Frizzell, Special Collections Assistant, in 2016.

Title
A Guide to the Cultural Alliance of Greater Hampton Roads Records
Author
Kathleen Smith, Metadata and Digital Services Specialist
Date
05/09/2016
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350