Reuben Cooper Papers
Scope and Contents
This collection contains the personal papers of Reuben Cooper, who served in the Speech Department at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary and Old Dominion University. Included in the collection are annual reports of the department, material related to the Debate Club, and material related to the formation of the Speech and Hearing Center at the division in 1959. An oral history interview with Reuben Cooper is available on the Old Dominion University Libraries Digital Collections website.
Dates
- 1959-1965, undated
- Other: Date acquired: 10/09/1975
Creator
- Cooper, Reuben (Person)
Extent
0.40 Linear Feet
Conditions Governing Access
Open to researchers without restrictions.
Conditions Governing Use
Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.
Biographical or Historical Information
Dr. Reuben Cooper was the head of the speech department at Old Dominion University during its days as the Norfolk Division of William and Mary.Besides speech, he taught English, Drama and Child Studies from 1946 to the mid-1970s. Dr. Cooper is remembered for many things he accomplished during his time at the school including the creation of the speech and hearing center in 1955. Today, the center still stands as a testament to Dr. Cooper’s commitment to serving the community.
Language of Materials
English
Source of Acquisition
Reuben Cooper
Method of Acquisition
Gift. Accession #A75-12
Accruals and Additions
An addition to the collection was received on 10/21/1977.
Processing Information
The collection was processed and finding aid created by Kathleen Smith, Special Collections Metadata Specialist, in August 2014.
Creator
- Cooper, Reuben (Person)
- Title
- A Guide to the Reuben Cooper Papers
- Author
- Kathleen Smith
- Date
- 08/25/2014
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- Finding aid written in English.
Repository Details
Part of the ODU University Archives Repository
3000 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350
libspecialcollections@odu.edu