The collection contains organizational and business related material, event flyers and programs, membership information, correspondence, and some photos related to the World Affairs Council of Greater Hampton Roads. Items related to sister and parent organizations, including correspondence and event materials, are also included.

This series relates to the World Affairs Council in the 1960s. Essentially, this series involves the formation of the Council and its first events in 1968 and 1969. The series is further broken down into sub-series by topic.

This sub-series contains the original bylaws for the World Affairs Council and historical information about the organization, including a chronology of the formation of the council.

This sub-series contains meeting announcements, minutes, board and officer nominations, and committee reports.

This sub-series contains general correspondence of the World Affairs Council, as well as correspondence related to its programs and advisory board.

This sub-series contains World Affairs Council mailing lists from 1969, as well as membership invitations and brochures.

This sub-series contains information on programs and events hosted by the World Affairs Council and other business of the Program Committee. The sub-series includes committee minutes, program flyers, event schedules, correspondence to speakers, and biographical material about speakers. Events include the Norfolk Foreign Policy Conference and the Norfolk Chamber of Commerce Speakers Series that originally developed an interest in forming the council.

This sub-series contains material that does not fit easily into the other sub-series. Material includes information on other world affairs councils, lists of films and publications, miscellaneous notes, and other material.