World Affairs Council of Greater Hampton Roads Records
Scope and Contents
The collection contains organizational and business related material, event flyers and programs, membership information, correspondence, and some photos related to the World Affairs Council of Greater Hampton Roads. Items related to sister and parent organizations, including correspondence and event materials, are also included.
- circa 1960-2009, undated
- Other: Date acquired: 03/20/2002
- World Affairs Council of Greater Hampton Roads (Organization)
21.00 Linear Feet
Conditions Governing Access
Open to researchers without restrictions.
Conditions Governing Use
Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.
Biographical or Historical Information
The World Affairs Council (WAC) of Greater Hampton Roads is a non-profit educational organization furnishing community services and programs unduplicated by other agencies in the area. The purpose of the WAC is to promote education, study, discussion, and understanding of world affairs, including all aspects of relations among peoples of the world, and of United States' foreign policy.
The foundations of the World Affairs Council (WAC) of Greater Hampton Roads were established by the Norfolk Chamber of Commerce, which sponsored the Norfolk Regional Foreign Policy Conference with the Department of State. This conference, held on November 21-22, 1968, attracted 450 business and government leaders from Virginia and North Carolina and 400 Virginia college students.
Beginning in January 1969, the Chamber sponsored a World Affairs Program Series in order to measure interest in the formation of World Affairs Council. As a result of the World Affairs Program Series, a nucleus of 150 persons, representing most of Hampton Road' cities, were identified as supporters for the establishment of a World Affairs Council.
This group elected a temporary executive committee and charged them with establishing WAC. After a series of public sessions to provide a guideline for the programming and activities of the Council, a charter was submitted to the State Corporation Commission and was validated on May 8, 1969.
Note written by Mel Frizzell
Language of Materials
Contains the administrative records of the World Affairs Council of Greater Hampton Roads, a non-profit organization that promotes an interest in international affairs. The collection includes business papers, information on programs put on by the group, meeting minutes, photos, and correspondence.
The collection is broken down into the following series: Series I: 1960s; Series II: 1970s; Series III: 1980s; Series IV: 1990s; and Series V: 2000s.
Source of Acquisition
Lesley Fort, Executive Director
Method of Acquisition
Gift. Accession #A99-2
Accruals and Additions
Additions arrived in 2002 and 2004.
- Lectures and lecturing--Virginia--Norfolk--History--20th century
- Norfolk (Va.)--Intellectual life--20th century
- Norfolk (Va.)--Politics and government--20th century
- United States--Foreign policy
- United States--Intellectual life--20th century
- United States--Politics and government--20th century
- World Affairs Council of Greater Hampton Roads
- A Guide to the World Affairs Council of Greater Hampton Roads Records
- Mel Frizzell, July 2002
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- Script of description
- Language of description note
- Finding aid written in English.