Skip to main content

United States--Politics and government--20th century

 Topic
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 6 Collections and/or Records:

Augustus C. Johnson Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 71
Abstract

Writer for "The Northern Virginia Sun." A collection of columns written by Augustus C. Johnson from September 1970 through December 1971. The columns relate primarily to the politics of Virginia’s 10th congressional district. Personalities discussed in them include Joel T. Broyhill, Henry E. Howell, George Rawlings, Harry F. Byrd, Jr., William B. Spong, Linwood Holton and Mills Godwin.

Dates: 1970-2000, undated; Other: Date acquired: 06/28/1999
Found in: ODU Community Collections / Augustus C. Johnson Papers

Dennis L. McCurdy Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 42
Abstract

Dennis McCurdy was a radio news broadcaster for WPMH News and Public Affairs. Contains reel to reel audiotapes of interviews, speeches, and events regarding politics.

Dates: 1977-1979, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/12/1979
Found in: ODU Community Collections / Dennis L. McCurdy Papers

Norfolk Forum Collection

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 77
Abstract

Established in 1932, the Norfolk Forum is believed to be the oldest nonprofit, public lecture series in the U.S. The collection includes Forum business, history, events and event programs, speaker bios, promotional materials, photographs, oral histories, and video tapes of some of the speakers.

Dates: circa 1930-2009, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/09/2000
Found in: ODU Community Collections / Norfolk Forum Collection

Edward L. Schrock Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 82
Abstract Served on the U.S. House of Representative for the 2nd Congressional District of Virginia from January 2001 to January 2005. His political and voting record is aligned closely with the Republican Party. Materials in this collection date from 1999 to 2004. They include constituent feedback in the form of letters, postcards, surveys, and public opinion ballots. Also included are other correspondence and reference material related to various issues and legislation and materials related to the...
Dates: 1999-2004, undated; Other: Date acquired: 11/12/2004
Found in: ODU Community Collections / Edward L. Schrock Papers

World Affairs Council of Greater Hampton Roads Records

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 65
Abstract

Contains the administrative records of the World Affairs Council of Greater Hampton Roads, a non-profit organization that promotes an interest in international affairs. The collection includes business papers, information on programs put on by the group, meeting minutes, photos, and correspondence.

Dates: circa 1960-2009, undated; Other: Date acquired: 03/20/2002
Found in: ODU Community Collections / World Affairs Council of Greater Hampton Roads Records

Steven A. Yetiv Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: RG 17-8B4
Content Description

This collection contains three scrapbooks featuring news articles, mostly from newspapers, written by Steven A. Yetiv, a professor in the Department of Political Science and Geography at Old Dominion University. Most of the articles are about United States and Middle East Relations during the Cold War and just before the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks on the United States.

Dates: circa 1983-2012
Found in: ODU University Archives / Steven A. Yetiv Papers