Skip to main content

Edward L. Schrock Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 82

Scope and Contents

The collection contains correspondence, surveys, reference material, committee records, and other papers related to Edward L. Schrock's tenure representing the Second Congressional District of Virginia. Of particular note are the letters to his constituents on various issues such as gay rights, gun control, the military, and education. The collection also includes material related to Schrock's time on the Committee on Small Business.

Dates

  • 1999-2004, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 11/12/2004

Creator

Extent

18.00 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

Open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

Republican Edward Lee Schrock (born April 6, 1941) served on the U.S. House of Representatives for the 2nd Congressional District of Virginia from January 2001 to January 2005. Schrock was preceded by Owen Pickett, and succeeded by Thelma Drake in this position. The 2nd Congressional District includes Virginia's Eastern Shore, Virginia Beach, and parts of Norfolk and Hampton. The district tends to be conservative housing eight military installations and Pat Robertson's Christian Broadcasting Network. Schrock was born in Middleton, Ohio. He attended Alderson-Broaddus College and the American University where he earned a Master's Degree in Public Relations. He served in the U.S. Navy from 1964 to 1988, including two tours of duty in Vietnam. Later he served as director of public affairs at the headquarters of the NATO Supreme Allied Commander in Norfolk, and retired from the Navy in 1988 with the rank of captain. After the Navy, Schrock worked as an investment broker six years with a national brokerage and investment firm. He then ran two successful campaigns for the Virginia Senate, where he represented the 7th senatorial district from 1995 to 2001. There he earned a reputation for his reliable conservative voting record. Schrock belongs to the Atlantic Shores Baptist Church, is married to Judith Adnee Crawford, and has one child, a son named Randy. During his time in Congress Schrock served on the House Armed Services Committee, House Budget Committee, House Small Business Committee, and House Reforms Committee. In 2003 Schrock was chosen to serve as the Chairman of the Regulatory Reform and Oversight Committee of the House Committee on Small Business. He founded and co-chaired the House Navy / Marine Corps Caucus and the House Special Operations Forces Caucus. Schrock's political and voting record is aligned closely with the Republican Party. Schrock favors fewer restrictions on gun ownership, strong restrictions on abortion, and increased military spending. Other issues important to Schrock are defense issues related to shipbuilding and personnel. The Christian Coalition gave him a 92% rating in their 2003 voting guide and the National Journal rated him as the second most conservative person in all of Congress for the same year. Among his other accomplishments and concerns, Schrock has also been a longtime advocate of public libraries. He was appointed by Virginia Governor George Allen to serve on the Library Board of Virginia. He served on the Library of Virginia Foundation Board; for ten years he served as President of the Friends of the Virginia Beach Public Library. He also served in a leadership role in Hampton Roads events such as Harborfest, the International Azalea Festival, and Tradefest. A cancer survivor, he served on the board of directors of Lee's Friends, a cancer victims support group. He served as a president of the Parent / Faculty Association at Cape Henry Collegiate School. From 1985 onward, Schrock has been involved with over 19 charitable and service organizations in Hampton Roads. On August 30, 2004 Schrock dropped out of his race for a third term in Congress due to allegations that he had made use of a gay telephone service to meet other men and that he was secretly gay or at least bisexual. The website Blog Active, a gay political website that frequently "outs" closeted gay and allegedly gay politicians who support anti-gay legislation, even posted voice recordings that they said was Schrock using the gay phone service to solicit sex from other men. During his time in office, Schrock opposed various gay rights issues including same-sex marriage and gays in the military, and he co-sponsored the Federal Marriage Amendment.

Note written by Mel Frizzell

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

Served on the U.S. House of Representative for the 2nd Congressional District of Virginia from January 2001 to January 2005. His political and voting record is aligned closely with the Republican Party. Materials in this collection date from 1999 to 2004. They include constituent feedback in the form of letters, postcards, surveys, and public opinion ballots. Also included are other correspondence and reference material related to various issues and legislation and materials related to the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Small Business.

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized into five series: Series I: Correspondence; Series II: Surveys and Public Opinion Assessment; Series III: Committees; Series IV: Reference Materials; and Series V: Miscellaneous.

Source of Acquisition

Edward L. Schrock

Method of Acquisition

Gift. Accession #A2004-20

Processing Information

The collection was processed by Mel Frizzell, Special Collections Assistant, in October 2006.
Title
A Guide to the Edward L. Schrock Papers
Author
Mel Frizzell
Date
01/28/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3023 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350