Collection: Mason C. Andrews Papers | Special Collections and University Archives Collection Guides

Mason C. Andrews Papers

Collection

Collection ID: MG 62

The collection includes correspondence, photographs, medical articles, newspaper clippings, architectural drawings, reports, and other material maintained by Mason C. Andrews, an OB/GYN doctor and Norfolk City Council member. The bulk of the material relates to the development of the Norfolk Medical Center and the Eastern Virginia Medical School, as well as Andrews' tenure on the Norfolk City Council from 1974 to 1997.

Conditions Governing Access: Open to researchers without restrictions.
Dates: Creation: circa 1777-2010, undated; Other: Date acquired: 10/14/1998; Creation: Majority of material found within 1950-1990
Extent: 61.3 Linear Feet; 95 Hollinger document cases, 16 oversized boxes, 2 artifact boxes, and one audiovisual box boxes
Related People/Organizations: Andrews, Mason Cooke (1919-2006); Eastern Virginia Medical Authority; Eastern Virginia Medical School; Andrews, Mason Cooke (1919-2006)
Language of Materials: English

Record Group I: First Accession, circa 1777-2006, undated

Record Group

Identifier: Record Group I

Dates: Creation: circa 1777-2006, undated

Series I: Personal Papers, 1932-1997, undated

Series

Identifier: Series I

This series contains the personal papers of Mason Andrews, primarily of correspondence between him and various family members.

Dates: Creation: 1932-1997, undated

Sub-Series A: Miscellaneous, 1949-1997, undated

Sub-Series

Identifier: Sub-Series A

This sub-series contains correspondence of Mason C. Andrews and other family members.

Dates: Creation: 1949-1997, undated

Box 1

File — Box: 01

Identifier: Box 1

Folder 1: Correspondence Sabine to Mason, 1949, undated

File — Box: 01, Folder: 1

Identifier: Folder 1

Dates: Creation: 1949, undated

Folder 2: Correspondence Sabine to Mason, 1949

File — Box: 01, Folder: 2

Identifier: Folder 2

Dates: Creation: 1949

Folder 3: Correspondence Sabine to Mason, 1949

File — Box: 01, Folder: 3

Identifier: Folder 3

Dates: Creation: 1949

Folder 4: Personal Correspondence, 1943-1949

File — Box: 01, Folder: 4

Identifier: Folder 4

Dates: Creation: 1943-1949

Folder 5: Personal Correspondence, 1956-1976

File — Box: 01, Folder: 5

Identifier: Folder 5

Dates: Creation: 1956-1976

Folder 6: Personal Correspondence, 1982-1983

File — Box: 01, Folder: 6

Identifier: Folder 6

Dates: Creation: 1982-1983

Folder 7: Personal Correspondence, 1984

File — Box: 01, Folder: 7

Identifier: Folder 7

Dates: Creation: 1984

Folder 8: Personal Correspondence, 1985-1987

File — Box: 01, Folder: 8

Identifier: Folder 8

Dates: Creation: 1985-1987

Folder 9: Personal Correspondence, 1988-1991

File — Box: 01, Folder: 9

Identifier: Folder 9

Dates: Creation: 1988-1991

Folder 10: Personal Correspondence, 1992-1997

File — Box: 01, Folder: 10

Identifier: Folder 10

Dates: Creation: 1992-1997

Folder 11: Personal Correspondence, undated

File — Box: 01, Folder: 11

Identifier: Folder 11

Dates: Creation: undated

Folder 12: Mrs. Jean Cooke Andrews, 1960, 1994, undated

File — Box: 01, Folder: 12

Identifier: Folder 12

Papers from NationsBank and National Bank of Commerce.

Dates: Creation: 1960, 1994, undated

Folder 13: Curriculum Vitae-Mason Andrews, undated

File — Box: 01, Folder: 13

Identifier: Folder 13

Dates: Creation: undated

Folder 14: "Mason C. Andrews- the Dauntless Doctor" - Tidewater Virginia, 1983 June

File — Box: 01, Folder: 14

Identifier: Folder 14

Magazine Article on Dr. Mason Andrews.

Dates: Creation: 1983 June

Box 2

File — Box: 02

Identifier: Box 2

Folder 1: Postcards, 1963, 1993-1996, undated

File — Box: 02, Folder: 1

Identifier: Folder 1

Dates: Creation: 1963, 1993-1996, undated

Folder 2: Christmas Cards, 1993-94, undated

File — Box: 02, Folder: 2

Identifier: Folder 2

Dates: Creation: 1993-94, undated

Folder 3: Princeton Club, 1993-94, undated

File — Box: 02, Folder: 3

Identifier: Folder 3

Dates: Creation: 1993-94, undated

Folder 4: Navy-Nato Contacts, 1983-96

File — Box: 02, Folder: 4

Identifier: Folder 4

Dates: Creation: 1983-96

Folder 5: Presidential politics, circa 1960-1969

File — Box: 02, Folder: 5

Identifier: Folder 5

Dates: Creation: circa 1960-1969

Folder 6: Drafts and notice Re: Biography of E. Stanley Jones and Howard Jones, 1994, undated

File — Box: 02, Folder: 6

Identifier: Folder 6

Dates: Creation: 1994, undated

Folder 7: U.S. Postal Service-First Day Covers, 1970, 1976

File — Box: 02, Folder: 7

Identifier: Folder 7

Dates: Creation: 1970, 1976

Folder 8: Sermon Re: Vietnamese Refugees, 1975, undated

File — Box: 02, Folder: 8

Identifier: Folder 8

Dates: Creation: 1975, undated

Box 3

File — Box: 03

Identifier: Box 3

Folder 1: Miscellaneous, 1994, undated

File — Box: 03, Folder: 1

Identifier: Folder 1

Dates: Creation: 1994, undated

Sub-Series B: Papers of Dr. C. J. Andrews, 1932-1944

Sub-Series

Identifier: Sub-Series B

This sub-series contains correspondence of Dr. C. J. Andrews.

Dates: Creation: 1932-1944

Box 3

File — Box: 03

Identifier: Box 3

Folder 2: Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1932, 1944

File — Box: 03, Folder: 2

Identifier: Folder 2

Dates: Creation: 1932, 1944

Folder 3: Correspondence 1943-1944 with Senator Byrd re: Children's Bureau Appropriation, 1943-1944

File — Box: 03, Folder: 3

Identifier: Folder 3

Dates: Creation: 1943-1944

Folder 4: Norfolk Chamber of Commerce Correspondence, 1940-1944

File — Box: 03, Folder: 4

Identifier: Folder 4

Letters from the Norfolk Association of Commerce

Dates: Creation: 1940-1944

Folder 5: Norfolk Association of Commerce, Statistics, Minutes, 1943-1944

File — Box: 03, Folder: 5

Identifier: Folder 5

Dates: Creation: 1943-1944

Folder 6: Norfolk Association of Commerce Slum Clearance Issue, 1940

File — Box: 03, Folder: 6

Identifier: Folder 6

Dates: Creation: 1940

Folder 7: Correspondence re: William Cooke Andrews, 1940-1945

File — Box: 03, Folder: 7

Identifier: Folder 7

Dates: Creation: 1940-1945

Sub-Series C: Children, 1970-1993

Sub-Series

Identifier: Sub-Series C

This sub-series contains correspondence and material relating to Andrew's two children.

Dates: Creation: 1970-1993

Box 3

File — Box: 03

Identifier: Box 3