Hiram F. Glazier Papers
Scope and Contents
The collection contains correspondence and other material pertaining to Hiram F. Glazier during the Civil War. Most of the correspondence is between Glazier and his family and friends, and cover the day to day life of a soldier and the attitudes of the Confederate soldiers and their families. Also included are "The Southern Banner," which could be called the Confederate national poem, and the response sent to Glazier's widow by T. Calvert of the Confederate Treasury Department. All of the documents in this collection are copies of the originals.
- circa 1861-1865, undated
- Other: Date acquired: 05/03/1977
- Glazier, Hiram F. (Person)
0.20 Linear Feet
Conditions Governing Access
The collection is open to researchers without restrictions.
Conditions Governing Use
Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.
Biographical or Historical Information
Hiram F. Glazier lived in or near, Trenton (Dade County) Georgia just prior to the Civil War in Alabama, but the exact date and place of his birth are not available. His father was Marnoch Glazier, his mother was Lucy Boon (married 18 December 1815 in Jasper, Georgia), and his family included three other brothers, Van Glazier, L. Glazier, and X.R. Warren (half brother perhaps), and one or two sisters, Amy Glazier and Ana Marie Glazier. Other known relatives included an uncle, Charles Warren, and two cousins, J.G. Warren and G.W. Butler. In turn, Hiram Glazier married Rebecca Wilson (March 12, 1836-December 8, 1896) and they had three children, Lucy Glazier (September 22, 1856), Marshall Glazier (October 24, 1858), and Belle Glazier (February 24, 1861). Other possible relatives or friends mentioned in this collection include C.H. Chadwick, T.H. Chadwick, Amanda Chadwick, Charles M. Glazier, Mr. Morrison, Franklin Daniel, George Statton, Mrs. M. Kithead (?), Blevins Auston, Mr. Carrel, Hardy Tare, Alexandria Smith, Emerson Blevins, William Buckner and Sis, D.L.G. Wilson, and Mandy.
Mr. Glazier enlisted on July 16, 1861 as a private in Captain G.W. Cureton's Company D of the 39th Georgia Regiment. Organized as part of a statewide effort to send a large number of men into battle as quickly as possible, the 39th Georgia volunteers had the following officers: Colonel J.T. McConnell, Lt. Colonel J.F.B. Jackson, Major J.H. Randall, and Adjutant W.M. McCallister. The captains of the various companies were: (A) L.W. Crook, (B) T.H. Pitner, (C) Timothy Ford (D) J.W. Cureton, (E) C.D. Hill (later replaced by Henry P. Osborne), (F) James H. Anderson, (G) B.J. Brown, (H) William H. Edwards, (I) John D. Hayes, (J) J.W. Brady. During the course of the war, this regiment was assigned to the army of Tennessee and saw the following action: the campaign of 1862 in East Tennessee and Kentucky; the battles of the Vicksburg Campaign in Mississippi being among those captured and then later exchanged at Vicksburg; the battle of Missionary Ridge; and the Atlanta and Tennessee campaigns in the spring of 1865. It was consolidated with parts of the Thirty-Fourth and Fifty-Sixth regiments and fought in the campaign of the Carolinas where it surrendered along with J.E. Johnston. Its Colonel, J.T. McConnell, died November 25th, 1864 after being shot in the Battle of Chattanooga and was replaced by Lt. Col. Jackson. In addition, two company commanders died during the course of the war, Captain Brady who was killed in action and Captain Osborne who died at home from an illness contracted earlier.
Hiram Glazier saw extensive action in the war even though he was active for approximately only a year. After duty in Big Shanty Cobb County, Georgia, Knoxville and Chattanooga, and perhaps because of several forced marches and an inadequate diet, he became ill and was sent to a hospital outside of Atlanta where he died on May 2, 1862. He was buried in Oakland Cemetery in Fulton County, Georgia.
Note written by Doug Wright; updated by Melissa Erlandson
Language of Materials
Contains copies of letters, dated 1861-1863, sent to and from friends and family of Hiram F. Glazier during the Civil War.
The collection is arranged chronologically.
Source of Acquisition
Method of Acquisition
Gift. Accession #A77-33
- 39th Georgia Regiment
- Atlanta Campaign, 1864
- Confederate States of America. Army
- Georgia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
- Kentucky--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Campaigns
- Missionary Ridge, Battle of, Tenn., 1863
- Tennessee--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Campaigns
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
- Vicksburg (Miss.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Campaigns
- A Guide to the Hiram F. Glazier Papers
- Doug Wright; updated by Melissa Erlandson
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- Script of description
- Language of description note
- Finding aid written in English.