Skip to main content

Eloise Word Skewis Papers

 Collection
Collection ID: MG 30

Scope and Contents

The collection contains personal and business correspondence, legal documents, newspaper clippings, and other personal and business papers. For genealogists, the collection also includes family trees for the Claiborne and the Harrison families of Virginia.

Dates

  • circa 1777-1907, undated
  • Other: Date acquired: 06/23/1978

Creator

Extent

2.10 Linear Feet

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open to researchers without restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from Special Collections and University Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not Old Dominion University Libraries.

Biographical or Historical Information

The dominant family branch for Eloise Word Skewis are the Claiborne family of New England and America. Other branches include the Kilby and the Harrison families of the James River. The Claiborne family of England and America are an ancient family that derived its name from the manor of Cleburne or Cliborne in Westmoreland, England, near the river of Eden. The manor is named in the Doomsday Book (A.D.1086), and the family were for many generations lords of this place. The first of the line appearing in pedigrees is Hervey, to whom Henry II granted moiety of the manor of Cliborne. The first of the Claiborne line to come to America was William Claiborne. He was born about 1587 and is first noticed in June 1621, when the Virginia Company engaged him to go to Virginia as surveyor. William came to Virginia with Governor Wyatt in 1621. In 1625 Governor Yeardley appointed him Secretary of State for the Colony and member of the Council. In 1642, the King appointed William as Treasurer of Virginia for life. He held several other public offices throughout his life. In 1631, William created a trading settlement on Kent Island in the Chesapeake. There he held many business contacts with several persons in London.

Note written by Special Collections Staff

Language of Materials

English

Abstract

This collection includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, receipts, statement of accounts, currency, bonds, and indentures. Of note is genealogical material that relate to the Claiborne and Kilby families of Virginia.

Arrangement Note

The collection is organized into four series: Series I: Correspondence; Series II: Legal and Business Papers; Series III: Newspaper Clippings; and Series IV: Miscellaneous.

Source of Acquisition

Eloise Word Skewis

Method of Acquisition

Gift. Accession #78-38

Accruals and Additions

Additional accessions in 1998 and 2000.
Title
A Guide to the Eloise Word Skewis Papers
Author
Special Collections Staff
Date
01/30/2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Community Collections Repository

Contact:
3023 Perry Library
4427 Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23529 US
757-683-5350